We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“GNO (girls night out) in California!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GNO (girls night out) in California!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Lovely "inn-like" experience. Super location...can walk anywhere and everywhere in Carmel! The property is very quaint...a little on the older side but charming! Loved the half-door on our Sunshine Suite room!! The INCREDIBLY reasonable rate included breakfast...tough to find in Carmel/Monterey!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annab25763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    274
    79
    15
    10
See reviews for
125
354
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
great falls, va
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The staff was very friendly, the room small but comfortable and clean. The location was great, just blocks from restaurants and shops, and it was an easy walk to the beach. The breakfast room always had vacant tables, which cannot be said for many Comfort Inns.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank artesiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

What a gem of a place!

Gita and her staff are to be highly commended for such a great Comfort Inn.
Very proffesional service and a fantastic location with superb rooms.
Definitely going to return to this location again as it's absolutely perfect.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilgrim1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This property has many pluses and a few minuses. If you know the scoop, you're all set. Its location is excellent, the rooms/baths are nicely done, the staff members are very kind. Bed was great. Issues: we chose 2nd floor of two for security. Probably overkill but required minimum of six steps, problematic for my joints. Biggest issue: HVAC. Carmel had some of its rare warm/hot days; even when the night was chilly the room did not cool down readily. A fan was supplied, which helped. Room was small; this didn't bother us. If this works for you, enjoy! // Traveler M.

Room Tip: See my comments. Ground floor would solve the steps issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerM407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very quaint, close to everything: shopping, beach, freeway access. Rooms are quiet, comfortable, clean, and updated. The customer care service is great. The hotel parking lot is small but parking is available on the street if there are no spots in the lot. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are really nicely decorated and most importantly very clean. The breakfast is very standard to most inns in america offering you the likes of tea, coffee, cereal,waffles,bread, meat,yogurt and fruit. The owners are very friendly and have no problem offering you advice on restaurants or what to do etc. If we go back to carmel which we really hope to do we will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 673Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our 4th multi-generational girl trip to Carmel by the Sea, but our first time to stay here. My daughter, grand daughter and I spent 5 nights here at the end of July and enjoyed every minute. Can't beat the location and the continental breakfast was great. Gita, the owner, was so friendly and helpful and the price was reasonable. The room was large and had all the amenities we needed - beds and pillows were comfortable. The decor was not as "Carmel quaint" as some other places we've stayed, but the comfort, location and good breakfasts, etc. definitely trumps :quaint." We'll be back next summer!

Room Tip: Second floor had a nice view of the town and was probably more private than first floor. There were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank fwlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing