We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and accomodations in Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and accomodations in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location right in downtown Carmel, excellent price, very clean, nice furniture (large for room), very comfortable bed, basic but good breakfast. Hosts are very accommodating. We had friends stay before and provided great feedback. We visited Carmel in May and all the other hotels were booked so chose the Comfort Inn. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler007FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    284
    83
    16
    10
See reviews for
127
371
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Carmel is a beautiful town, its bright sand beaches protected from the sometimes harsh Pacific by a sheltered bay. This hotel is an easy walk from the beach, along streets with fine restaurants and interesting shops. The hotel is comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful. It matches the story-book charm of the town.

Room Tip: The rooms are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful room but was so small had to be very careful to avoid bumping into furniture. The bed is too big for the room because it was built in the early 1900 s when the beds were smaller. Parking was not available for all rooms and the streets were full due to summer tourist. Nice breakfast and the staff was friendly. Would try to find another place next time.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vellet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This motel is ideally situated at the edge of Carmel. The motel grounds are beautifully landscaped and the court yard is nice and quiet for breakfast, etc. The room was comfortable, and the service great

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 127don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Both me, my wife & niece stayed here from 6/23/14-6/24/14. The property & Room was good but the staff is what dampened our experience. Before we even left our home (3hours away) to head to Carmel I received a phone call around 10AM from the comfort in saying they couldn't authorize my payment on my credit card. I made this reservation online & it specifically stated they would authorize $1 & that I would pay the full amount upon check in (I still have the email that states this) but he was insistent that I needed to have the full amount paid before 1pm.. Soooo I went to the bank to do some transfers which was very inconvenient. The night of the 23rd we wanted to hook our DVD player up to there Flat Screen Samsung TV, however none the buttons on the TV weren't working to change inputs & this is something that cant be done from the Comcast remote. When we called front desk he told me "honestly I don't know anything about the TV" then my wife called him like 15 minutes later and he pretty much told her "oh well" now this was at like midnight and it was the same man which called me about 12 hours earlier that day about the credit card authorization which tells me he most likely stays on the property & he was most likely the hotel/property manager. I'm guessing he was very tired at the end of the day so in my oppinion he needs to hire night/morning staff that has the energy/fresh customer service to handle such simple issues. Otherwise the rooms were small yet nice & cozy, parking was horrible & I had to park on the street. I also notice fresh white paint on the scraped bumper of my car when we made a pit stop for gas which tells me someone hit my car at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in June and found the hotel very comfortable. It was clean, had a nice flat screen tv and a comfortable bed and decent water pressure. My husband enjoyed the breakfast. I would stay here again. The only problem was we had someone above our room that was walking all over and moving about at 11:30 p.m. and woke us. I would try to get a top floor next visit.

Room Tip: Would choose an upstairs room next time as we had a noisey neighbor above us that woke us up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CherylB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here in Carmel for two nights and really couldn't fault anything. To sum it up:
1. The location is perfect. The town is just outside your door and everything is within walking distance.
2. The room was spacious and the bed was large and very comfortable. In fact, it was one of the best beds we had on our 5 week trip to America.
3. Breakfast was a good selection of cereals/fruit/coffee and even has its' own waffle machine where you can make plain or blueberry waffles. Brilliant!
4. Plenty of parking available
5. The host was lovely and helpful.
6. The wifi signal was strong and speed was fast.
7. The bathroom was clean and showerhead was great.
I highly recommend staying here for your trip to Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing