We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and accessable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and accessable”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family and I stayed here in the last week of April, just before the weekend of the Big Sur Marathon. Pickings were slim in the Carmel/Monterey area, and we had had to cancel our previously booked lodging when the proprietor informed by wife and me that they would not allow children under 14 (can't quite tell why that information wasn't provided to us up front, but that's neither here nor there). Anyways, we booked two nights at the Comfort Inn as a backup.

We were not disappointed. As Comfort Inns go, this was the nicest one I've stayed at. It was cute, with the dutch doors like you see throughout Carmel (i.e., the top of the door can open out to let the fresh air in). The room was clean, the price was right (given the general upcharge of the Carmel area) and the location was a very easy walk to every restaurant and shop in Carmel. Both nights, the whole family walked all the way to the beach from the hotel and back. It had your typical Comfort Inn breakfast, which although nothing special, it was a great way to save some money not having to deal with it out on the town. The manager was polite and nice to us, and gave us some good tips for parking and driving into Monterey for the day.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised. For a no-frills hotel, I could not have expected more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcboy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    307
    87
    18
    10
See reviews for
135
397
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

The outside of the hotel couldn't be more charming and the location is perfect. Walking distance to the heart of Carmel. Room was average motel room and bathroom. .Was clean and wifi worked. Breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanH328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was leery about staying here, but after reading reviews the hotel had recently been updated, I booked at room. I knew the parking lot was small and that we would most likely have to park on the street, which was fine. Check-in was smooth and the lady at the desk was nice, but I was so disappointed with our room; it was the worst room we stayed in on our trip up the coast. The bathroom smelled and was dire need of an update. I refused to allow my feet to touch the floor and literary cried when I had to take a shower. This hotel does not have air conditioning so we had to sleep with our windows open. We heard every car that drove by, and the television didn't work.

I would suggest not staying in Carmel by the Sea. It's a cute town with lots of expensive shops and restaurants, but from my research, there are not many choices for good lodging. Carmel by the Sea would be a reasonable place to stop for lunch, but dinner is pricey. If you normally stay at Embassy Suites, Marriott, Residence Inn, or even Hampton Inn, you will most likely be disappointed with this hotel, unless you are assigned a room that has truly been updated.

Room Tip: Check-in early, and request a room that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelsnob90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

No frills hotel just a short stroll from Carmel. Clean rooms and comfortable bed with free parking on hotel lot. A basic buffet breakfast is provided. Each room contains tv, microwave, refrigerator and coffee making facilities. The refrigerator noise did disturb my sleep as a light sleeper

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

On a recent girl's weekend we fortunately found this local gem. Crazy clean and beautifully maintained, with a fabulously comfy bed in an albeit smallish room. Very nice breakfast each morning. All tucked into a flower filled super convenient location downtown. Avoid the churlish female staff, they could freeze water with a glare. Definitely will return!

Room Tip: I think the upstairs rooms may have been a bit quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cflynnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We unfortunately were only able to stay for one night at the Comfort Inn by the sea as we were travelling on to Santa Barbara and then Santa Monica. However from the moment we arrived, we knew we had picked a great place! The outside appearance of the hotel is so pretty, parking was easy on site and we found the office quickly. The lady who greeted us could not have been more charming and welcoming. She was so friendly and gave us all the information that we needed, I felt relaxed from the start. We had two rooms, one for our daughters and we had requested they were next to each other, which they were. The rooms were lovely, so clean which is a major priority in my book, and so very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and spacious with a great shower. We had a fridge and a microwave, so would have been very useful if we had been staying longer. Cannot fault the room or the service we received.
The position of the hotel was great, we were able to walk into Carmel and go down to the beach and then again in the evening, we walked to a lovely Italian restaurant and had a great meal and pleasant evening.

Breakfast was good the next morning with a good choice and check out was quick and painless. To summarise, we highly recommend this hotel and thank the very helpful lady on reception who helped make our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Comfort Inn in Carmel by the Sea. It was just the nicest stay. The hotel is beautifully maintained, clean and bright and warm. Lovely flower boxes and an outdoor patio with umbrellas and tables for guests' enjoyment. From the moment we checked in we felt welcome. Parking was free and on site and it was an easy stroll to downtown.The complimentary breakfast was super and included a nice variety of choices. Fresh coffee was always available.The room was nicely appointed, very comfy bed, large bathroom with lots of space. Big screen TV and fridge. Clean clean clean. We enjoyed our time here and hope to make it a yearly event. Well done Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: We chose an upstairs room. The hotel is very quiet, we slept great. I think I could recommend any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babbdawgcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing