We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed, easy access to the main part of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We normally stay in more 'upscale' hotels and needed a place to stay in Carmel on a trip down to LA for Rose Bowl. It was Friday night after Christmas and there was 'no room in the Inn' anywhere in Carmel. We lucked out to get the last room in town or so it seemed. We chuckled when we entered our room as there was way more drawers and closet coat hangers than at the chi chi hotels. Susie the desk manager was welcoming and helpful with restaurant discount coupons. On the bed were two choices of pillow firmness, soft and firm. Didn't have to call housekeeping they were already there. Bed was quite comfortable. Only comment is the towels were a bit sparse. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road as can be slightly noisy at night.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IPSAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 679 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband, daughter and son-in-law stayed at the Comfort Inn Carmel by the Sea during Thanksgiving 2013. The Inn is charming and welcoming on the outside, and updated, nicely appointed rooms with excellent beds. The location is perfect and within walking distance to all you want to see in Carmel. When we reached the Inn, we loved the window boxes with bright flowers and upon registration we met Susie. She is just the best. We enjoyed our days talking with Susie, and she was very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast is included and is quite nice. We will definitely return to our best sleep! Oh, there is also a darling outside patio! Thank you again, Susie, for a great stay!

Room Tip: We loved the second story room because the bathroom had a window and we had a view of the town. How...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rle7513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We only stayed overnight as it was a stopover on our way to LA. We found the hotel very clean and had all the comforts although the room we had was tiny & with four people sharing it was a little tight but for an overnight stay was ok. The complimentary Buffet breakfast had a good variety to choose from - even better than some of the bigger hotels we've stayed at. The location is very good. It's within walking distance to shops, restaurants & the beach. It's also a short distance if you want to drive to Monterey or Pebble Beach etc. Overall, good, clean hotel for a short stay especially as this town can be a bit pricey. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank detravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Close to all the shops, clean, comfortable and friendly staff. A bargain in the high rent area. This will be at the top of my list upon returning.

The breakfast was very good. Contrary to some hotels, there is limited on site parking .... a big plus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here in DEC 2013 with a friend as part of our tour of the Central Coast. The hotel is located at the top of Ocean Ave so you are right there by all of the shops and restaurants of Carmel.

If you want a fancy hotel, this isn't it. But if you want a very clean, newly redocorated and refurbished hotel with good parking and a nice but simple exterior and you want to save some money, I would recommend this place. The owner is alo the manager so you get a higher level of service than you might otherwise get. The free breakfast was quite good with large variety and plenty to eat with fresh fruit, danishes, waffles, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hofnar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hotel Suite was very pleasant. The service provided by the staff was exceptional.
I will make the same choice when I return to Carmel. The free breakfast was superb.
The scenery around the hotel was extremely pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hagop a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2014

First of all let me thank for giving us a 5 star rating by taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Comfortable, clean, good breakfast, convenient location, very friendly and helpful receptionist at the front desk - I believe Susie is her name. Excellent cost-benefit! We were orinally staying for only one night and then moving on to Monterey, but decided to take a day trip to Monterey and go back to Carmel for two more nights! Best thing we did!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $151 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing