We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Value and Comfort”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Close to all the shops, clean, comfortable and friendly staff. A bargain in the high rent area. This will be at the top of my list upon returning.

The breakfast was very good. Contrary to some hotels, there is limited on site parking .... a big plus.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    298
    86
    18
    10
See reviews for
130
391
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I stayed here in DEC 2013 with a friend as part of our tour of the Central Coast. The hotel is located at the top of Ocean Ave so you are right there by all of the shops and restaurants of Carmel.

If you want a fancy hotel, this isn't it. But if you want a very clean, newly redocorated and refurbished hotel with good parking and a nice but simple exterior and you want to save some money, I would recommend this place. The owner is alo the manager so you get a higher level of service than you might otherwise get. The free breakfast was quite good with large variety and plenty to eat with fresh fruit, danishes, waffles, yogurt, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hofnar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Hotel Suite was very pleasant. The service provided by the staff was exceptional.
I will make the same choice when I return to Carmel. The free breakfast was superb.
The scenery around the hotel was extremely pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagop a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort Inn C, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
First of all let me thank for giving us a 5 star rating by taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable, clean, good breakfast, convenient location, very friendly and helpful receptionist at the front desk - I believe Susie is her name. Excellent cost-benefit! We were orinally staying for only one night and then moving on to Monterey, but decided to take a day trip to Monterey and go back to Carmel for two more nights! Best thing we did!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Checked many hotels in Carmel and this seemed to be the best value. Very limited cramped parking and upon our arrival we witnessed a jeep in the parking lot that backed right into an SUV parked on the street, quite a bit of damage and they just drove off! Hotel is within walking distance to shops and restaurants. Desk clerk was friendly but the main issue for us were the thin walls-our boisterous neighbors were swearing and having loud conversations till 1 a.m. when my husband pounded on the wall and asked them to quiet down (they did). Free Wifi and nice complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: try many websites to find the best value in Carmel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walloongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Have often stayed in Comfort Inn's and knew what to expect. This one was quiet, clean, good beds, easy sleeping, and a short block off the downtown area. Parking was a little 'interesting' as they seem to have more rooms than parking stalls, which may require parking on the street.
It is an attractive setting, with lots of hanging flower baskets. Breakfasts were fine, and standard for motels which provide them.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I picked this hotel for a three-day stay to start my trip down the Pacific Coast Highway and see the Monterey Aquarium and the sights around Carmel. It looked to be highly rated, quiet and comfortable even if a little pricier than I planned to spend. Well, it looked good but the service from start to finish was terrible and the staff, starting with the manageress who greeted me was surly, arrogant and defensive. For instance, when I put in a wakeup call (I'd forgotten my travel alarm) so I could meet someone in town, they evidently misheard the room number. Then, when I called about it after missing my appointment, even though I had given it to them quite clearly the night before--and a paying guest--instead of an apology I got an accusation that I had given them the wrong room number. Nor were the willing or able to give me any directions, even to nearby places. In addition, their breakfast was the same old prepackaged stuff that you find at all the cheaper inns, and the building was old with thin walls so you heard your neighbor snoring. That said, the location is nice, but so are most places in Carmel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We appreciate your compliments as it relates to our location and guest room comfort, We apologize that your experience was not up to your satisfaction and that we fell short in meeting your needs. Although I would not characterize our hotel as Overrated as seen by many of the positive reviews posted by previous guests, we will work hard to improve our already high customers service standards. We strive to provide the best customer experience from a service and guestroom standpoint. I will share your comments with our staff as we are always trying to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing