We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Around Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, California
2 reviews
“All Around Superb”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We didn't quite no what to expect since we had just stayed at another Choice hotel in southern California and it wasn't so great, but this one, WOW! Quaint and Charming, one would never guess this was part of an international chain. The property was sweet and no detail overlooked from the freshly swept brick courtyard to the colorful poppies in the window box. It feel very European to my husband and I. The room was just as nice and very clean with a very very comfy bed. We were in town for the Big Sur Half Marathon and I got EXCELLENT sleep. Great location and just all around wonderful property. And, lastly the price! It was fantastic. $125 per night with our AAA card. Win Win Win!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSHERNANDEZ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation of the Comfort Inn Carmel. You are correct in your statement that our guestrooms have been recently renovated and the breakfast you described if Comfort Inns new "Your Truly" Breakfast which we re glad you enjoyed. I will pass along your compliments to our housekeeping staff as they take tremendous pride in room cleanliness. We hope you return to enjoy our hotel and the beautiful surroundings of Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    295
    85
    17
    10
See reviews for
129
385
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

When we visit Carmel we always go to the Comfort Inn in Carmel by the Sea because of the exceptional service we receive there by Susie!! The location is excellent and we feel like we are at home there!! I would highly recommend it!! Love the area outside to sit and enjoy an afternoon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We always appreciate when a guest takes time to share their positive moments during there stay. I will pass along your compliments the Susi she does a tremendous job is taking care of each guest. We hope to see you soon at the Comfort Inn Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Personally I think of motels and think ..eeek! However we managed to get the last room available on our road trip and were really surprised ! The room was really big with a bathroom to match. The outside was very pretty and was in a wonderful location. Not many parking spaces but we managed to get one each day. Breakfast is very basic and a DIY on the waffles which was nice ..it did however set you up for the morning. The manager was very nice and friendly. We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humbug72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest

It is very gratifying for our entire staff to read positive reviews as the one you posted about your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We are pleased to that you enjoyed your stay and everything our hotel has to offer. I will pass along your compliments to our staff as they work very hard to make each guest stay memorable. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last year for a night. As an aside, Carmel is wonderful and should not be missed. This hotel was in a good location. It is a few blocks from some really great restaurants and is about a 10 minute walk to the beach. It is very wasy to get to as you can as it is only about a 1/2 mile from Route-1. Parking was a bit of a challenge, as the lot isn't huge and the spaces that are pretty tight, so you may end up parking down the street - not a huge deal. The room was clean and to our surpise quite modern. It was good sized and the king size bed was actually pretty comfortable. The walls were thin so you could hear your neighbors, but it wasn't a major issue. The courtyard is rather charming and is well maintained. The rooms have split doors that open into the courtyard which we thought was a nice touch. The breakfast was fairly basic, but we weren't expecting much (and there are some really delightful restaurants a few blocks away). The service at the front desk was pleasant and friendly. I think this is a decent option if you are staying in Carmel for a day or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We appreciate your many positive comments about our location, clean rooms, friendly staff, and charming courtyard and grounds. Many of guests have shared in your opinion and we always appreciate when these comments are reinforced. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they work hard to provide each guest with a positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We did a trip down the PCH and decided to stay here for one night for our stop in Carmel. The hotel was clean and newly remodeled. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location, one block from downtown Carmel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debs927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were so happy to hear that you stopped by the Comfort Inn for a night during your roadtrip down Pacific Coast Highway. So many of our guests find Carmel and the Comfort Inn a nice center point while traveling either north or south on PCH. Thank you for your kind works about recent remodel and improvements. Our ownership and management have worked hard to create a clean comfortable environment for each guest to enjoy during there stay in beautiful Carmel. We hope you return soon and hopefully for more that one night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, updated room. Microwave, fridge, iron although blowdryer was missing. Plentiful continental breakfast. Only parking available for compact car or you need to park on the street. The room was stuffy but there was a small portable AC unit available which did just fine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank torenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

So many of our visitors travel to Carmel on there time away during weekends. We understand that your time is valuable and we appreciate that you trusted your time to stay with us at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We as a staff work hard to provide clean comfortable rooms and friendly service. We were happy to hear that took advantage of the many amenities we have to offer and they were to your liking. We hope to see you again on your next weekend excursion to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you don't look for something posh, but for a fair trade, try this place. The very friendly staff provided good information about the city, pointed us to a delicious seafood restaurant in 5 minutes walking distance, and equipped us with a 10% voucher for the restaurant.
Enough space to park the car nearby.
Room furniture isn't the latest & greatest, but clean and well maintained.
Bed was good. The place is also distant enough to HW#1, so the traffic is not disturbing.
I would recommend the place to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank_from_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortCA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always nice to hear that a guest found there stay comfortable and that they were well taken care of by our friendly staff. We were happy to hear that you appreciated our central location as many guests enjoy the ability to walk to all the popular local shops and dining Carmel has to offer. We appreciate your recommendation to your friends and hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing