We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay in Carmel , last minute. We called and spoke to Susie the owner who was very pleasant and accommodating . We we very pleasantly surprised at the location of the inn which was walking minutes away from downtown Carmel . The room was very clean and the price was right. We will defiantly be returning regularly.it was great to be able to park our car and be within walking distance of everything.
Strongly recommend if you want great value and clean rooms
Belinda and Patrick

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    274
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
124
353
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It was our first time in Comfort Inn and we chose it only because of the price (because Carmel is already overpriced especially during the high season) and there was no other option for us in the center of the town. We also liked the possibility to park on site, and the location of the B&B itself.
I had bad vibes when I first called in to make sure they could provide a crib for our 1 year old baby and the receptionist almost hang up on me.
Unfortunately, our stay did not live up to our expectations. Dark, run down, small, unstylish room. Very noisy due to the thin walls. It reminded me of the hostels I have been to when I was young.
Staff had a very unfriendly attitude, despite the efforts to the face. None of our minor requests were addressed, only to receive dismissive answers.
Breakfast was nothing special. One of those that require an early lunch.

Generally speaking, Carmel is overpriced and this hotel is no exception. There are several hundred cosy, beautiful, rewarding destinations around the world that deserve more, A couple of nights stay anywhere in California already pays for the airline ticket to Europe (or elsewhere).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvgK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a nice little Inn. It is ideally located, just steps away from downtown Carmel. Yet, it is just far enough from downtown that it is very quiet. I basically parked the car for a few days and was able to walk throughout town.

The parking lot is very small and will not hold all guest vehicles. However, there is parking available on the street in front of the hotel.

My room was very clean and everything was relatively up to date. The bed was comfortable and the room did come with a safe to store valuables.

The only drawback is that the walls are very thin. As a result, you can easily hear your neighbors in the adjacent rooms.

This is the first accommodation I've tried in this area and would have no problem returning if my travels take me back to Carmel....which has great shopping and restaurants!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JourneyThruTheLens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed here and were very pleased with the rooms, location and staff. We arrived very late our first night and Susie the manager stayed past the office closing time to give us our rooms. The location could not be better, across the road is a deli store with everything you could possibly want. We brought food from there and sat out in the courtyard at the hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lola241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been remiss in sending this review from our visit in March, so here it is.

My husband had a major birthday on St. Patrick's Day, and we decided to come out so he could play a round of golf at Pebble Beach. We really wanted to stay in Carmel, had not been back in several years but remembered how nice it was just to walk to restaurants, shops, and the beach. We found this hotel right off Ocean Blvd. and it turned out to be a great spot for us. Stayed four days. Each day breakfast was included, which was very convenient. It is also close to a grocery store. The hotel is very well managed, the rooms are small, but very well appointed. Very clean as well! If you book a room for two people, it would be hard to add more people or beds; we left our golf bags in the car. There is some parking available, first come first serve. The Inn is very efficiently run. We saw the lady everyday and it is clear she keeps and eye on everyone and everything. We felt safe and comfortable. The last night we changed our room to the only suite, and it was spacious and nice, with a private seating area outside. There is a courtyard with outside seating, nice area to share a glass of wine. Lots of flowers everywhere. We would enjoy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very pretty and all you need for an over night stay. It is located on the main street towards the outside of town. The rooms are clean and well stocked, Keith a coffee maker and bath. I would not stay longer as the rooms were very dark and walls thin. The breakfast was limited with the strangest burger and flat rubber eggs. By the way don't arrive early as your room will not be available.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brightwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I booked early and was able to get the King Bed Suite (room 58). It is a large room with fireplace. Even though it was mid July, the evenings get cool on the coast and we enjoyed the fireplace in the evenings. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was standard (waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs). Parking can be a little difficult, only 6 spots in the lot, and the street parking was always full. But we parked in the lot when we checked in and never moved the car for 2 days. Everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ArkansasRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing