We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights over Memorial Weekend. The room was small but clean. Free Wi-fi, comfortable beds, and great water pressure for shower. The location was great in that we were close to town to walk and easy to access by car. The parking is limited on site, but easily found parking on a side street even though it was a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfgangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    307
    87
    18
    10
See reviews for
135
397
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

After much review of the many places to stay in Carmel we could not have been happier with our choice to stay here. The location was perfect and in walking distance of everything. The Inn itself was adorable with beautiful gardens and a nice patio to sit outside on instead of your room if desired. The room itself was small but clean, comfortable and all that we needed, including wifi and parking. We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here as we will be again if we are ever lucky to visit beautiful Carmel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kramer_098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Spent 1 night here last week while driving the Pacific Coast Highway. It was an absolutely perfect place to stop for a rest. Besides the fact that the hotel is just steps from quaint streets, shops and restaurants of Carmel, the property is filled with character and charm. The room was lovely and and the free breakfast, wifi and parking is a bonus. I would absolutely return and would recommend anyone planning to stay the night in Carmel to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Would definitely stay here again. It was great value considering:
- Great Location (downtown, close to the beach) - short walk away
- Quaint, place is well maintained and clean (very important)
- Includes breakfast
- Friendly staff

We would definitely stay here if we go back to Monterey or Carmel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DigTravelMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Carmel by the Sea is full of hotels and inns. I stayed here on my honeymoon and was really pleased that I decided to stay at this inn. It was near the town centre in a central location. The bedroom was really nice and comfortable and the owner (susie) was really nice and helpful. I needed to get some washing done and she asked her housekeeper to do it at a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. Parking too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMCStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It's a Confort Inn, set your expectations appropriately. The location of this hotel was excellent. You are walking distance to all the downtown Carmel shops and restaurants. You can easily walk to the beach from the hotel. I loved the cozy feel, the lowered court yard that you can take your breakfast out to, and newly renovated rooms. I stayed here for two nights with my wife and really enjoyed the stay. Great value. Would stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patofiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a lovely little hotel. We stayed for one night on a trip up the coast and regret we didn't make it two. Great location. Rooms are small but nice and clean. It's really all about the location.

Room Tip: No A/C so you will probably have your windows open. Get a room away from traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlm0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing