We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel. It is close to everything you need or would like to see within this small area. The short walk to the beach passes many quaint buildings and interesting stores. Comfort Inn is a lovely and clean hotel. It is quiet and reasonably priced. Throw in breakfast and you have everything you could possibly want in a hotel. The friendly staff make this hotel a home away from home. Our room also included a fridge and a microwave, spotless bathroom, and a lovely warm and comfortable surroundings.
I will stay here again and again and again.....

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rambling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for many kind words you mentioned in your recent review of your stay at the Comfort Inn Carmel. Our staff works very hard to provide clean comfortable rooms to create a great experience for each guest. We love to hear that you feel it is a "home away from home" because that is exactly what we strive for each guest to feel. As you mentioned we try to provide great value with nice clean guest rooms with greaty amenities along with a great Full Hote Breakfast. Thank you for your comments and we can't wait for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    274
    77
    15
    10
See reviews for
124
353
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have been to Carmel on many occasions and stayed at this Inn a handful of times. It is sort of at the top/ enterance to Carmel-By-the-Sea, so it might not be the closest to the beach but still a pleasent and reasonable walk to it. There is a little market right down the street which is good for picking up snacks for the beach and almost right across the street is the begining of the main area of shops and resturants.
The main draw for us is the pricing and location. There is nothing too special about the Inn, it is what you would expect for a Comfort Inn. If you have intentions of spending lots of time in your room, then you might be disopointed about this no thrills Inn, but really all the good stuff is not in your room anyways when you visit a place such as Carmel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BritMarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post areview about your stay at out Hotel. Wew are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful surrounding area of Carmel. Many of our guest appreciate our hotel for our nicely appointed guestrooms and our reasonable price. Our location is located on Ocean Ave walking distance to all many shops and restaraunts which makes it very convenient for our guests. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here one night as we made our way down the central coast. We loved Carmel and we loved the Comfort Inn. The hotel is in the village on Ocean Avenue, Carmel's main street. Strolling through town after dark when all the mini-lights was nice.

This Comfort Inn is a wonderful place to stay. The exterior is charming like the village itself. Large trees, a brick courtyard, pretty flowers on the grounds and in window boxes, and Dutch doors make for a very attractive hotel. There aren't many rooms in the inn so the property seems small and homey, especially with Dutch doors leading into all the rooms. Parking is somewhat limited but the spaces are very close to the rooms.

Our clean room had a very comfy king bed, flat screen TV, free wi-fi, fridge, microwave, blow dryer, iron & ironing board, granite counter, bronze style bathroom fixtures, and toiletries. Next time we will get a more quiet 2nd floor room (which is actually at the street level).

The complimentary hot breakfast was good, and the little breakfast nook cute and cozy although we could have taken our food to one of the little outside tables to eat.

We will return to Carmel and will definitely return to stay at this awesome little inn!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are closer to the Ocean Avenue parking spaces and would probably be quieter witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercedcampgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. Your positive description of our hotel gives our staff much joy as they take great pride in providing excellent customer service and exceptionally clean rooms. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed the many amenities we have to offer as well as the charm and uniqueness of our Inn. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel and to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Once again we met our friends from Austin, TX in Carmel. What an amazing place to meet. This was our 3rd stay at Comfort Inn, Carmel By the Sea. Each time we had a different room. So I can only imagine that all the rooms are wonderful! The accommodations MORE than expected, large and CLEAN and everything in tip top working order. Great walking to shopping, dinner, and the beach. SUSIE is gracious and runs a first class operation. We will be back and already looking forward to our fourth visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so appreciative of the wonderful review of our hotel that you have shared. We are so happy that you returned for third time and that your experience has been postitive during each visit. Carmel is a magical place to visit as you know and your description of the surrounding area was perfect. I will mention your kind words to Susie as she works very hard to provide each guest with a great experience and customer service. We look forward to your nevt visit to the Comfort inn Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington,NJ
Level Contributor
108 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Positives of this hotel are beautiful outside, decent location, good breakfast and comfortable room with everything working. Negative would be the key needed reactivated everyday? (there for 3 days), walk to ocean is long and down/uphill (top of the hill), no computer and no service for printing boarding pass which should be available for guests, front desk not very good at telling you were to find this service exactly.
Carmel is a picturesque, flowery courtyard fairytale place. It is dog friendly which I love and the dogs are all sweet and free to roam the beach. This place is so clean they have butt suckers LOL which I've never seen and everyone respects their beach and attitude. It is hard to find "warm, customer service" people. I did find this on my visit to a Mantra, the facial place (highly recommend Carmina) and the hair stylist next to it Mission (right behind lulu's chocolate). There was also two outstanding french restaurants there as well with excellent customer service. I highly recommend the spas on Mission, the restaurants there and the artists who wonder their galleries. The ocean is rough at Carmel (rip currents). Several surfers hit this area near Pebble Beach golf course. The town is my very favorite to visit in all of CA, do picturesque and alluring but bring warm friends with you!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room off of Ocean Ave. Some rooms have cool windows that open up and there are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We appreciate all the positive comments that you enjoyed during your stay and we take your suggestions seriously as our staff are always looking to improve each guest stay. Thank you for your beautiful description of the Carmel Village and your many dining suggestions you provided as many new travelers are looking to try new places based on travelers experience. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel and Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Wow, we love it here, it's a great place to stay in Carmel by the sea!! Everything is within walking distance including the beach! The accommodations are great and Susie's service and hospitality are exceptional!!!! We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your return to the Comfort Inn carmel. I will pass along your positive messages to Susie as she works hard to make each and every guest experience memorable. we look forward to your next Carmel Getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent two nights at Comfort Inn, Carmel By The Sea (original plan was only one night) but a combination of the beauty of Carmel and the excellent experience at the Comfort Inn convinced my companion and I that we needed a second night. I will confine my remarks to the Comfort Inn and in particular the Inn's manager SUSIE. This Comfort Inn is picturesque, very clean and very well managed and SUSIE gets all the credit in my opinion. There was nothing she didn't fail to provide from extra coffee packages for the in room coffee maker (not requested but obviously picked up by SUSIE during comments I made about the good coffee) to even offering me a different room for the second night if I wanted one (I thankfully declined
as the first night's room was perfect). The free breakfast was sumptuous and was well looked over by SUSIE to be sure all her guests were satisfied. If you visit Carmel By The Sea please gve the Comfort Inn a call for a room. You will be ver happy you did. We stayed at the Comfort Inn the nights of October 7and8.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing you great experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel. We were so happy that you decided to stay a second night as Carmel and the surrounding area are so enjoyable that you definitely need a second day to explore. I was so happy to hear to describe our hotel and its many beautiful qualities. I appreciate all the positive comments about Susie as she does a wonderful in taking care of each and every guest and ensuring there comfort and enjoyment during there stay at the Comfort Inn. I will make sure to share your comments with her. We look forward to your next visit to Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,535 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing