We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in $$$ town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value in $$$ town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

What more do you need in paradise?
Clean room - check
Nicely furnished room and bath - check
Frig and Microwave in room - check (restaurants are expensive and a grocery store is across the street)
Breakfast - check
Friendly staff - check
Walking distance to town and the ocean - check

I knew I was in the right hotel in Carmel because a lot of international travelers were staying here. If you are the kind of traveler who spends their time exploring the city rather than in your room I would recommend staying here. It's an amazing value in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglerockbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all the positive comments during your stay at out hotel. I will share your thoughts with our staff as they take much interest in the guest experience and take alot of pride in ensuring each guest takes away nice memories while visiting our hotel and Carmel by the sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    292
    85
    17
    10
See reviews for
128
379
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy to find out that this location is walking distance to all the shops and the beach. Great atmosphere. Rooms were updated as well as the bathrooms. Breakfast was a nice touch. Good price for the location. Would stay here again since Carmel by the sea is so beautiful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnCarmel, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing experience at the Comfort Inn Carmel. As you and many past reviews have mentioned, our hotel is centrally located in the heart of Carmel Village. We are walking distance to the beach, shops, restaraunts, and art galleries which visitors enjoy as they get explore the beautiful surrounding of Carmel by the Sea. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our nicely appointed guestrooms and expanded breakfast. We look forward to your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a classic case of first impressions turning out NOT to be true. We turned up here without a booking, as we were assessing a few places in Carmel before we committed to a two night stay. On entry to the reception area we were blasted with the smell of a chicken tikka masala (or similar) coming from, presumably, the owner/manager quarters behind reception. Not a particularly auspicious start. However, we persevered and were shown a room (63) which was really great. My wife and I are sticklers for two things in particular, cleanliness and modern furnishings, and the room ticked both of these boxes for us. Further, it was great value for money (you often get a better rate at the last minute). So, we stayed and had a very nice couple of days. The only thing I wouldn't rave about was the breakfast, but for such great value, so close to the heart of Carmel, who can really complain? One suggestion to the owner though: Think about wiping the breakfast tables in between guests.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary, staying in the Carmel/Monterey, CA area (we are Los Angeles County locals). We are Choice Privileges members and love staying at any Comfort Inn & Suites. As usual, our expectations were surpassed by the excellent service, especially from Susie, the hotel manager - she is amazing! All the Carmel shops are in walking distance. Breakfast is included - scrambled eggs, sausage, fruit, cereal, etc. Make sure you make reservations because this place has about 20 rooms. Thank you, thank you, thank you - to Susie and Comfort Inn & Suites! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank algsw911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The location was excellent for all that Carmel has to offer.Pretty courtyard with tables and chairs, flowerboxes hanging from the balconies and right on Ocean Avenue. Large updated bathrooms, comfortable rooms & internet access. Breakfast included muffins, cereal, danish, eggs, sausage & waffles. The staff was friendly & helpful. Everything was wonderful.

Room Tip: Second floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaraSpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Easy walking to the main street, and quite walkable down to the beach. Carmel is such an enchanting place it was nice to be in the center of everything. The hotel's complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise. juices, coffee, freshly make-them-yourself waffles (with help) :), cereals and many other things. The room was small but nicely decorated, bathroom renovated. Beds, very comfy. Only stayed one night, but could have spent a week there easily (especially after the drive up the pch through big sur! Nice little courtyard draped in flowering vines. Would recommend this.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor (a bit of an effort with luggage) but I don't think there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontariodeb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA845, Manager at Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. You have done such a lovely job in describing both the hotel and the area that surrounds it. Carmel by the Sea is such a beautiful place and our staff has worked hard to create an inviting place for guest to enjoy. Thank you for mentioning the guestroom and bathroom improvements as much thought and effort was put into these additions to provide the best possible guest experience. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit to Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We found The Comfort Inn just driving by. The property is pretty well kept and the room was clean, although a little dark. It is just a block away from the major shopping/restaurant area in Carmel so quite convenient. We walked all around that afternoon and evening and didn't worry about having to find parking. They let us park our motorcycle right in front of the office and it felt secure. Breakfast the next morning was included and quite adequate including fresh made Belgian waffles. We would definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marione M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.2 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea
Address: Ocean Ave. & Torres Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Carmel By The Sea Hotel Carmel
Carmel Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing