We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fading glory?”
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz' creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant's famous "Rio Rita." The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 9:30 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 - 3:00PM. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:30 and Sunday 4:00-9:30.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fading glory?”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The artichoke was still great, but the smoked chicken and potatoes and artichoke was a little off. Both fish dishes I have to say were both a little disappointing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UCgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    185
    62
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“no chips and guacamole!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

A Mexican restaurant that doesn't serve chips and guacamole huh?
The menu is pretty eclectic not a lot of Mexican dishes. if you're really craving true Mexican I suggest trying somewhere else.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, General Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi Niklki,
Sorry about the Chips and guacamole, but we are not a Mexican restaurant, nor have we ever claimed to be.
We have California Cuisine with a Southwest tint. hopefully you will give us another shot.
Thanks for coming in,
Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We decided to dine at the last minute at the Rio Grill which was very busy and frequented by local residents. The Hostess was very nice and accommodated us right away since we were a party of two. Our server was so nice and recommended two very nice delicious dishes. The smoked chicken was the best I had while in Carmel and the duck my GF said was the best she had. I would say that this place is going to be one of our favorite places to dine the next time we visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahalo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food & friendly staff in Carmel”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We were advised by a local for a good place to eat. That was good advice. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. We tried calamari - fried very good, skirt steak with fried eggs - excellent. Good selection of wines, prices are moderate. Restaurant is at the shopping centre, so lot of parking places

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ivanK436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Go-To Place!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

When we have company in town, we go here... for family celebrations, we go here... when we want to do a bit of happy hour, we go here... when we just want to eat good food, we go here. Everything we've had here is creative and tasty... love the pork shank with slaw, the shrimp pasta, the ribs, the house chicken... also, daily specials are consistently excellent. Staff is very good. ohhh, did I mention desserts? YUM! can't find a bad one. Only downside is it can get a bit noisy, so not the place for a quiet romantice dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elainehincv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing