We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I've only been here once, but the experience was fantastic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz' creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant's famous "Rio Rita." The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 9:30 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 - 3:00PM. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:30 and Sunday 4:00-9:30.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I've only been here once, but the experience was fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best resraunt in Carmel, service very tentative, food was amazing, everything was very clean and the GM "Joe Valencia" is amazing. FIVE STARS...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simsima2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    174
    61
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We saw a lot of locals eating and celebrating birthdays here, so that was the first sign of a place with good food.
I tried the crispy pork shank per other reviews....it was excellent. I usually have a tough time finding a nice place to eat in the Carmel/Monterey area, so this place was a pleasant surprise. Service was excellent as was their drink selection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the reviews, we thought we would enjoy Rio Grill. Let me just say the most fun part of our meal was the crayons on the table. It was busy, but we were seated right away. Good sign. Or so I thought. I ordered the fish special. it arrived COLD and BLAND. The broccoli and cauliflower mix of grilled veggies was more than cold. I swear they were just defrosted! Husband had the chicken and it was also bland. My youngest daughter had the ribs and they were so tough we couldn't even cut them with a knife. Forget chewing them.

For the price we expected more.

Pass the salt, please.

**I gave it 2 stars because it was a clean place. And the waiter was friendly and polite. And because they have crayons.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedShoes2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended by a Local!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was in Carmel for business and this was recommended by a local. Excellent! I had the pork loin. The cliente is a little older (60's) but that's Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vtwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Busy restaurant which is always a good sign. Had good reviews on yelp so we gave it a try. Were going to bring our own wine in but they have a $20 corkage fee so not worth it.
Empanada appetizer was delish! I had the short rib and could have licked my plate clean if I had the room. Every part of it was good. My friend had the ahi tuna special which needed a bit more spice but was also good.
Wait staff were all very friendly and so was the hostess. Because of how busy it was, it was very loud.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing