We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but somewhat pricey”
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz' creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant's famous "Rio Rita." The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 9:30 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 - 3:00PM. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:30 and Sunday 4:00-9:30.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good food but somewhat pricey”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

They have an excellent salad and the homemade ice cream is also quite good. The staff is nice and attentive. The location has a good atmosphere but it is quite noisy at times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    185
    62
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
262 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Best Value in Town”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Love this place. When we are in town we always have dinner here one night. Food is excellent and the decor is artsy and witty.
Prices can't be beat for the quality. It's in a mall!!!!!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“that's where the locals go!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

very good food & good service. All in all it is very busy there, the decor (especially the wall painting) is not my favorite at all, but if you sit at the right side of the table you don't have to look at it :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, General Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review. We are constantly striving to improve our restaurant and your affirmations mean a lot to our hard work.
Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Joe Valencia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“outstanding gem”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

So busy we had to sit in bar area, which was not the best but made it worked. Food was great and so was the service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarkR53092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, General Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am so glad you ended up having a great experience in our bar. I know it can get a bit hectic in the lounge and we are happy to know we met your expectations. Next time you come in please ask for me so I can stop by. Thanks again for your positive comments it means a lot to us.
Joe V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent atmosphere”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had to wait 30 mins for our table so we sat at the bar and had a cocktail which was good and the food was excellent, highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank applegate69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing