We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz' creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant's famous "Rio Rita." The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 9:30 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 - 3:00PM. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:30 and Sunday 4:00-6:30.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The chicken in artichoke butter is the best! Nice atmosphere, great service and food. You can also take the food to go and enjoy it at the Theatre in the Forest. Watch a play in the woods with a wonderful meal and wine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharibarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    188
    64
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,659 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,321 helpful votes
“The bar lounge was just fine on a Friday afternoon”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We arrived at Rio Grill after having climbed a small mountain to view a "trickle' of a waterfall, so we were hungry and did not want to wait an hour for the dining room to serve...hence the bar. It turned out to be a great choice. The patrons were friendly, the service was excellent, and the nuy encrusted salmon entre was delicious. We both ordered wine which was reasonable for Carmel and the sour dough bread was toooo good. Overall, the meal was very good and I would not change a thing. There is something about having a meal in a pub atmosphere now and then that leaves you with a good flavor. We were in and out in an hour and on our way back to Monterey. A great day on the coast of CA. Don't let the shopping area fool you, this is upscale.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun artwork, good food”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our BBQ ribs and I loved my appetizer of marinated artichoke. I found the artwork in the restaurant delightful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't pass up just because it's located in a shopping center”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We've been here 2x over the the past 5 years and the food has been outstanding both times. I had the Pork Shank and it was spectacular. The calimari appetizer can amply feed 6 and has a superb green chili sauce. The knowledge of the staff about each of their dishes is outstanding, so don't be afraid to ask. Don't be afraid to take your "foodie" friends from San Francisco to this place. They will give you push back because it is not located in downtown Carmel, but you will be the one basking in their thanks and praise. Order any of the Mexican, sea food or vegetarian dishes and you will be impressed. The wine selection supports the great food. Just skip the bread.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LedyardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Upscale, Good Food”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Come dressed for Carmel, and ready to spend a few extra dollars. The food and presentation was great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kermitthefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing