We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALWAYS A GOOD BET”
Review of Rio Grill

Rio Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rio Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Road
Transit: Public Transit is just a few yards from the restaurant.
Description: Rio Grill, located in the Crossroads in Carmel, has been the place to meet friends, enjoy tasty, flavorful food and relax with a refreshing cocktail or glass of wine for over 28 Years. Chef Yontz' creative American dishes are some of the most flavorful, colorful and vibrant on the Monterey Peninsula and celebrate flavor in every mouthwatering bite! In addition to the main dining room, Rio Grill has a comfortable lounge and full bar serving refreshing libations including the restaurant's famous "Rio Rita." The bar is lined with colorful caricatures of local faces and celebrities. Rio Grill's award-winning wine list features more than 160 labels featuring a ton of local wineries and an extensive selection available by the glass. For more information on Rio Grill, please visit our website at riogrillcom. The restaurant opens for lunch every day at 11:30 and serves straight through until 9:30 PM. Rio also serves a great brunch on Sundays from 11:30 - 3:00PM. Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4:00pm-6:30 and Sunday 4:00-6:30.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We visit the Monterey area each year for two weeks. The Rio Grill is always on our restaurant list. The food is fresh and fun, the staff is friendly and professional and the prices offer good value. There was a great new idea this year -- the wine list is presented on an iPad. It's easy to read, offers as much or as little information as you want and can be shared with tablemates. The wine list also offers a lot of choice -- both varities and price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TominCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

We are glad Rio Grill is your regular stop when in the Monterey Area! The iPad is a fun new addition to the restaurant for browsing the wine list. We are glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Carmel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 502 of 571 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2011

Nice restaurant with good food and service but it got very busy on Saturday and we ended up eating at the bar. Ribs and pork shank were good and service was pleasant and efficient. Worth a visit if you are staying in very bust Carmel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pendragon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are happy you enjoyed the food and service. We are busy, especially on the weekends, but we do accept reservations, and also offer reservations on OpenTable for your convenience! We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Rio Grill is a fabulous restaurant, for the whole family. The food is wonderful, the presentation is classic, servers and wait staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Ordering wine is a very new concept, try it. Parking is easy, and right in front of the restaurant. Always busy, so reservations are necessary. This is one establishment you should not miss if you are staying in the area or passing through. We always visit for lunch or dinner, when we are in Carmel or Monterey. A meal here will be one anyone will truly enjoy and be on a return visit list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I'm not sure why the Rio Grille got some poor reviews in mid 2009. We've been going there once or twice a year for about five years and have not yet had an issue. The food is always excellent. Once we mentioned an anniversary when making our reservation and arrived to find our table decorated with rose pedals. One one visit visit we asked our waiter what he knew about the Carmel Valley road that extends east to Hwy 5. He was apparently worried that we might be thinking of driving that road after an excellent bottle of wine. The matre de came over to chat about the road and casually worked in a question about when we were thinking of driving it. He was relieved that we were planning that drive for some future trip to the area. He said it was not a very safe road and we should drive it in daylight, good weather. Dinner at the Rio Grille will continue to be a highlight of our trip when we drive up the coast. The only caveats; you likely will need a reservation and if you bring your own bottle of wine, the corkage is a steep $20.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

We are so happy you have been regular customers for five years! We are pleased to be one of your regular visits when you are in the area, and that you joined us for your anniversary. We hope to have you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had a surprise dinner for my 90 year old Step Father and the Rio Grill was picked for the food, and convenience (we were staying across the street at the Carmel Mission Inn). The hostess was very helpful on a very busy night making sure we all were prepared when the guest of honor came in. The place was lively, and the food excellent. I had the duck, which also included a duck tamale.Inventive and tasty. Everyone else enjoyed the meal. A few complained that the server was not up to par with the food, and ambience. I'd have to agree. She didn't do anything terribly wrong, but she could have been a little more attentive, and there was a subtle cool air about her, but it really did not impact the experience. All in all it was a very good meal, and I'd go back anytime.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank beach2mountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe V, Manager at Rio Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the duck tamale! We are glad you joined us for a surprise birthday party and we look forward to you visiting us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Rio Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing