We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place.”
Review of Club Jalapeno

Club Jalapeno
Ranked #75 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Belfast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice little place.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed our meal at this nice little Mexican restaurant tonight. Staff were very welcoming and helpful, food was plentiful and very tasty. Great margaritas too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PabMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    14
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loomis, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The definition of average”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Why did we go for mexican food at the coast? We learned our lesson. Nothing special, just OK food. Not worth spending your precious night here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomlriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Num Num”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Simply put, this place was very good. I loved their chips which were worth the trip alone. They were made from flour tortias and a mixer of others, Very flavorful food, margaritas, clean, promt and enjoyable. I will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottamuspotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Oaxacan Cuisine in Carmel?”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

On our recent trip to Carmel we were looking for a good place to get "take out" so we could relax over dinner in our room which had a fireplace and good ocean view. It took a little research to find this gem of a Mexican restaurant in an out of the way courtyard. At 6 pm it was bustling, very clean and seemed to have a neighborhood crowd. We sat at the bar, had a glass of wine and enjoyed the people watching, conversation with locals and the aroma of the food being prepared. We went for an order of Oaxacan Enchiladas, pork carnita and an order of Chile Verde to go.
We retired to our room and had a wonderful dinner and will make sure we get back to Club Jalapeno on our next visit to dine in and try more of the very extensive special items they offer. If you want Mexican with a flare in Carmel this is the place. It is small so reservations are probably a good idea.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good margaritas and awesome mole enchilada's”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I have been coming here for years and love the food and the margaritas. The staff is friendly as well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snappydoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Jalapeno also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Club Jalapeno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing