We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great find while in Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find while in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

During our first trip to Carmel we stumbled across Il Fornaio while walking Ocean Ave during the morning. We decided to make a reservation for dinner and come back in the evening. We were pleasantly surpirsed and had the most attentive service we've seen in a long long time. Our server Rod was very hospitable and knowledgeable which helped with our ordering and wine selection. Too bad he's a Lakers fan...
A definite recommendation for a stop while in Carmel. It is a very nice space that is bright and very inviting; not a dark, quiet italian restaurant that you get in many places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Hi!
We're glad you "discovered" us. And glad we could give you a treat. Hope the rest of your trip is as auspicious. You two were delightful and we'll be happy to host you anytime you're in the neighborhood.
Happy trails,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    140
    75
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
358 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Fun lunch at the expansive bar. Excellent choices from the antipasta to home made ravioli. Nice wine selections too by the glass

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you - we're so glad you had a fun visit. Hope to see you again.
ciao,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious pasta in a delightful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Il Fornaio is a favorite with us and we always have a couple dinners there during our annual visit to Carmel. I particularly enjoy their lasagna and my hubbie likes the cannelloni. We have also enjoyed their fish entrees. We always request the porch because it it bright and cheerful with flowers and trees outside the windows, and affords a peek at the ocean and sunset depending on your table. I look forward to another dinner there in a week or so.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very nice restaurant and very good food. Atmosphere is high class and the servers with their white jackets make a good impression. Servers were very attentive and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your warm review. The thanks go to you. Hope to see you soon again. ciao, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hoping It Was Just the Wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Attended a wedding reception here. The prosciutto covered melon appetizer tasted fishy. Although the green olives in peppers and garlic were devine. Dinner was just okay, a stark departure from previous Il Fornaio experiences. Our italian salad was flavorless and no tables had salt and pepper. We had to continually ask for water to be refilled. The bartender, was excellent however, in not only making drinks that tasted perfect, but remembering your order when you came back to the bar.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing