We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful food, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a wonderful meal. The roasted heirloom tomato soup would make Ina Garten beg for the recipe. The pizza's were crisp and light and wonderful and the pasta was home made and amazing. My new carmel favorite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your compliments, we look forward to taking care of you again soon. -Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    145
    76
    30
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Buffet breakfast was ample and tasty but the same every morning. We had dinner there on 2 of 3 nights and it was excellent. The staff is very friendly, eager to please and attentive but not intrusive. Prices are reasonable for California -- especially Carmel. We would definitely go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your warm review. We're glad you enjoyed your visits and hope to see you again. mille grazie, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have eaten at their various locations thought out the Bay Area and like this one best for their extra attention to the little ones in your party and for its more laid back atmosphere. The food is consistent-- pizza is great, bread super yummy and the pastas are made to order

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Silvertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your warm review. We're glad we're your favorite. Please keep coming and having a great time. We appreciate your loyalty. All the best, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good as usual !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was the 3rd different Il Fornaio that I visit and once again I was very happy with the overall experience. Service is very good, the food is great on a reasonable price and the bread is delicious !!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gustavo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Welcome to the Il Fornaio family. We're glad you love us! Thanks so much for your warm review. All the best to you, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

With Carmel you expect a great experience, and this does not disappoint. I felt like I was in a quaint cottage with flowing rooms and some being opened to the sky and others covered but with the open-air feel to them. Lovely lunch spot with a nice wine list. Great for a romantic meal with that special person or a table full of friends. A must every visit to Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for the compliments. This is a special place. We're glad you love it too and we love taking care of you! See you next time and hope its soon. Take care, Lina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing