We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner”
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Il Fornaio means "the Baker" in Italian. Located in downtown Carmel, Il Fornaio offers an authentic and unique Italian dining experience and a Wine Spectator Award of Excellence 2007 wine list. Enjoy wood-fired rotisserie and grilled meats, poultry and game; house made and imported pastas; pizzas from an oak wood burning oven; fresh salads and house made soups; antipasti and a wide variety of desserts made daily from scratch. Reservation Confirmation Message: Thank you for choosing Il Fornaio - Carmel. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you Grazie e Ciao
Hingham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here in Carmel. Atmosphere is charming in an old hotel lobby, service attentive and food delicious. We all had various pasta dishes to rave reviews by my family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your warm compliments. We're so glad you had a great experience. Thanks for spreading good news about us and we'll look forward to your next visit.We hope to see you soon again. -Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    160
    77
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“so so...”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

They are about the same no matter which location you visit. Food was good but communication with the staff was challenging. I would think the wait staff would be Italian, but they weren't..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sonyisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good, but not as good as expected”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Seems like an up scale place, but service wasn't. Not that it was bad, just not to the standard we expected. Food was good, but again nothing exceptional given what we expected. But we really like Carmel, so we'll go there again because it's convenient and good ... just not as good as expected

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla_MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedbak. We're sorry you were disappointed on your last visit. We hope that you will come again so we can show you that we can exceed your expectations next time. Sincerely, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SO Disappointing”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

As others have mentioned the service was all wrong.
I insisted on going out to a nice Dinner with my parents during a recent trip to Carmel/Monterey peninsula area. We decided on Il Fornaio because we were in Carmel and the Restaurant options are limited. Let me tell you I am NOT a picky eater nor am I a snob when it comes to Good food or service but our waitress spoke broken english and was very short. She didn't smile ever i dont think? I worked in the Restaurant industry so maybe I'm more aware of Servers than most but either way the service wasn't very friendly. When we finally got our food my Fathers dish was cold and his plate SMELLED LIKE A DIRTY DISHRAG. He still tried to eat what he could but the smell was making him sick. My food tasted literally like the chicken had gone over and was grayish ;( I actually sent my food back which I have never in my adult life done. My Mom said her food was ok but my Dad and I were just so disappointed. Bad food. Bad service and I can still remember that gross taste of my "chicken". I'm sorry Il Fornaio... you have a lot of explaining to do..

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank junicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hello -
I am heart fully sorry that you had a disappointing experience here. We appreciate that there are many dining opportunities in Carmel and that you chose to come here for your special occasion does mean a lot to us - and that you were disappointed is such a shame. Thank you for your feedback. Be assured that your concerns have been addressed with our staff. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves and give you a wonderful experience dining here. If you are amenable to this, please do not hesitate contacting me. My email is carmel@ilfo.com. We really do appreciate your input and want you to come back and have a wonderfully memorable experience to replace this disappointing one. I hope to hear from you. Sincerely yours, Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
220 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

a bit noisy and crowded. It sort of kills the ambiance. Also, had the feeling they wanted us to hurry because people were waiting. Food was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank oregonoma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John R, Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. I agree, sometimes it can be very loud in the dining room. Some of our guests like that livliness, and since you don't, if you come again, which we hope you will, please let us know you prefer a quieter ambiance and we will do our very best to find you a quieter table. We're so happy you loved the food. Hope to see you soon again. -Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing