We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Happy but Weary Travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
Ranked #25 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco
1 review
“Happy but Weary Travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

These days of watching our money closely we like to get out and still get bargains, we were surprsied to get a great deal in Carmel at this place for $89 when we just walked in off the street. The way were greeted so happily and warmly by the lady at the front desk was totally unexpected and welcome considering we'd been travellers for hours on the road. "Diane" told us to unpack and come down for wine hour, and when we did she was a busy bee running around doing stuff but took time to share local stories, from this area for a long time she was a gold mine of fun factoids! She also made a point to tell us Carmel is for romance, so we switched gears, had some fun suggestions from her what to do, what to see, like the sunset! The parking situation not all that good, but from what I heard wasn't just this inn, that is a problem for everyone in this tiny town; the room was very cozy and clean, smelled a bit too much like bleach for us, but we aired it out; admittedly little things not perfect, like half a roll of used toilet paper on the spinner? and no other roll of toilet paper? Went to front desk, but wasn't able to find any, she kept apologizing, went into employee's bathroom and gave us their roll, whcih showed to us they hired responsible, caring staff. Ask Diane to tell the story of Frank Sinatra, why he was never allowed back to Pebble Beach in the 1950's after a memorable AT&T visit! As she said, "it's a hoot!", all that makes up for the little annoying problems we as tired travellers face. We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    96
    63
    55
    72
See reviews for
79
182
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had to leave the room at midnight due to very strong chemical smell that in our opinion made the room unsafe to occupy. There is no one on the premise to request room change, so our only option was to leave.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Carmel Wayfarer Inn a number of times and had an enjoyable stay for a bargain price. However, my last visit was a real let down. The Inn is under new ownership and things have really gone downhill. The room was dirty and smelly, the continental breakfast was awful, the wine and cheese hour had no cheese, just Ritz crackers and jelly (what the heck?). Regardless to say, I will be trying to find another affordable Inn in Carmel for our next trip there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwintrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

"Quaint"? if you idea of "quaint" is: mildew around the tub; an "ocean view" that is primarily roof-tops; a skimpy "breakfast" of Webbers and basic "Brown Bead", a pathetic waffle maker and very diluted coffee; a bed that is guaranteed to send you to a chiropractor; out-of-date and very tired decor; sand-paper towels....then, this is a very quaint place to stay. As for being "charming"...the outside and grounds are deceiving, and somehow do not help an aching back in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marilyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
attleboro, ma
Level Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Very sad, we had previously stayed here a few years ago under previous ownership and were dissapointed with our return. The hotel would be very nice if they would just put a little TLC into it. The carpets were worn and the room had lingering odor. The room was dusty and looked like it hadn't been dusted in a while. Our top door did not work and it was very warm. The only upside was the owner was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boktasofattleboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked this hotel over the phone on a summer weekend when it was the last property available. And on arriving we discovered why!
The place would actually be quite charming if weren't for the frowsy, bedraggled air that permeates every corner. We arrived just before sunset and there were guests sitting out on the patio with glasses of wine (offered by the hotel). Nice touch, but too bad the wine was such poor quality (I am from California, so I know).
The room itself was highly disappointing, especially since we were paying $180 (plus tax!) for the night!. There are motels that are much more attractive and appealing! The view from our room was lovely, but the windows were so dirty that it was not easy to see it. All furnishings were shabby and worn, and appeared not to have been changed or even refreshed since sometime in the (early) 1980's. The television a) did not work ,and b) will soon be a collectors' item (massive CRT)! The carpet bore numerous holes, stains, and even burn marks. The bed-linens were clean, but old and dilapidated. The bathroom was light and airy, but there was mould between the tiles, the door was filthy, and the shower rod was rusty (!).
This said, the location is perfect. You can walk to Ocean Street and the beach, and there is not that much traffic. The owners are gracious and kind. Structurally, the hotel is well laid-out, with good sized rooms with great views. It just needs a MAJOR renovation. Until then, chose ANY other Carmel property, unless you have dogs (this hotel is pet-friendly, since any damage four-legged friends could cause would simply blend in with the rest of decor) or are desperate and can't find any other place to stay (but brace yourselves!).

Room Tip: Corner rooms upstairs are quieter and have more sunlight and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

By far the worst the hotel I've ever stayed in. In fact we lost our non refundable deposit because we refused to stay there. The room was old, dirty, smelled bad, worn out carpet, bed spread had stains ......the fireplace glass was totally fogged to a point you could see only 10% of the fire...I could continue. We left the room and complained ...the desk clerk was nice and offered another room. It was just as bad plus you could hear the people next door. We just left and lost our $150 room deposit.
Thats how bad it was. Found another place 2 blocks away that was very nice for the same money. When I returned home I called to talk to the manager......I was told he would call me back. Never did....so I followed up and still no return call. How a place likes this survives especially in a place like Carmel is really weird. The outside was run down too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 mi away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Carmel By The Sea
0.4 mi away
Carmel Green Lantern Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Wayfarer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Wayfarer Inn

Property: Carmel Wayfarer Inn
Address: 4th Avenue & Mission Street, PO Box 1896, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carmel Wayfarer Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English styled country Inn with rooms and suites, ocean views, garden and patio; quiet area three blocks from the village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Carmel Wayfarer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Wayfarer Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing