We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmel Wayfarer Inn
Nearby Hotels
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$150
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pine Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$183
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$549
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel River Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$147
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Valley Ranch(Carmel)
$520
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveler rating
86
105
70
63
97
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
105
70
63
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast room isocean avepatio areaking beddowntown carmelview of the oceanfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 421 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was advertised as a B&B, but I think it is more like an over-the-hill motel. Definitely needs some updating. On the plus side, the bed was fairly comfortable, the shower water was hot and the food was decent. But a B&B? No way. The bathroom was functional but hardly fancy. The internet service was pretty much nonexistent. The breakfasts were essentially toast, cereal, and waffles. That was about it. Nice courtyard, though, if you are interested in sitting outside and having a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank palmdesertdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

this is my first review on trip advisor.

i have been lucky enough to stay in the plaza in new york all the way down to a 10 bed hostel room in australia. hotels are hotels though at the end of the day; you get what you pay for.

however, after reading trip advisor for nearly decade i am moved to write a review about this godforsaken place.

like the previous reviewer we happened to be in Carmel coincidentally while the car show was on and we hadnt made reservations. a helpful employee of another hotel gave me a list of rooms still available in carmel, which happened to include this 'hotel'

we were relieved of a staggering $299 at reception but at this stage to be honest we were just pleased to get a room as time was ticking on, and from the outside the property didn't look too bad, just typical of the other hotel/motels in the town.

however, on getting to the room the penny dropped as to why they still had space while the rest of the carmel hotels were full to capacity. The room plainly hadn't a refurb since Watergate, and the bathroom was a similar trip in time travel. the curtains didn't close at all so anyone walking past our room had a great view inside to us, and incredibly the 2 windows didn't shut properly so we didn't go out for dinner for fear of having our valuables stolen. readers you may be asking the question if it was this bad why didn't we simply leave? well the reception had closed at 6 pm and no representative of the 'hotel' was there to speak to.

the next morning, still reeling at the money we had been charged for staying at this flea pit, i loaded the car while my wife checked out. she complained about the window and the lack of curtains and was met with a torrent of abuse from the owner. you get the impression he had answered these accusations once or twice before. "lady we normally charge $600 dollars for that room so you got a good deal" was his retort......

To anyone thinking of staying here, don't. To the owner, you are very lucky i didn't ask you to step outside for the way you spoke to my wife.

i've given it 1 star because carmel is truly beautiful. if you get the chance, go. don't stay at the wayfarer inn though, please don't.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank chrislord2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was a pit. I am embarrassed to admit that we had to pay $399 per night for 3 nights(regular $99 per night) for a shabby 10 by 10 room with the entrance off Mission Street. Don't press too hard on the sink or it might just fall on you. Notice they don't show a picture of this room on their web site? Unfortunately there weren't any other rooms available in the town due to the car show. I'm not quite sure what they mean by "extended breakfast"...waffles, wheat toast, white toast, cereal, english muffin & hard boiled eggs? You'd think for the extra $300 per night the owners would have gone out of their way to spend a little extra on breakfast. We spent a little extra money and went out to breakfast the last 2 days. Will NEVER stay here again. Don't appreciate being taken advantage of! They didn't bother to ask how our stay was. I'm sure they knew what the answer would be.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynnNewportCoast_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very nice! Breakfast was excellent and the owners of the Carmel Wayfarer Inn were very nice people. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I don't know how many rooms have a kitchen but room 7 does.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed at The Wayfarer Inn in June 2012 with my husband, 3 year old & 7 month old.

Whilst the hotel is in a great location, just a few blocks from terrific restaurants & shops, the hotel itself is pretty crudy. While it is clearly aiming at rustic chic, it only succeeds at being, well, grimy. Skirting boards missing, rooms half painted, non operational televisions & lamps were just some of the highlights.

To add insult to injury we were charged $25 for the use of a baby cot/crib, which we were only told incurred a charge upon check out (which, incidentally, we had to set up ourselves) the owners justification for this was "this always happens everywhere" despite us never being charged for the use of a cot/crib anywhere else on our travels.

Carmel is a beautiful town, with many better options for accommodation... Try the better (& cheaper) Best Western down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alwaysthetravellover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews