We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can one complain portions are too big?”
Review of Katy's Place

Katy's Place
Ranked #16 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can one complain portions are too big?”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We easily got a table as it was around 8h40, but soon the place started filling up and there were people waiting outside. Boy, portions in there are huge! I went for an omelette with onions, chorizo and bell peppers - that came with a small vinaigrette, potatoes and bread - and my husband chose a mexican tortilla one with beans, guacamole and tomatoes, accompanied by a fruit portion on the side. I guess I could eat almost half of mine. I do feel bad when portions are too big because I hate wasting food. Service was fast and there is a great selection of products to choose from.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dindi_SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    223
    66
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Huge selection, great food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The breakfast was pricey and they only accept cash but the food was excellent. One of the largest selections of Egg's Benedict varieties I have ever seen. The breakfast burrito was large enough to feed 3-4 people and the biscuits and gravy were excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDW92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was the best breakfast I ever had! Everything we ordered was awesome, you can't go wrong here. My children got the cinnamon raisin french toast, it was divine. My husband got the corn beef and hash, he loved it. I out a seafood omelet it was out of this world, with huge chunks of lobster and crab, and shrimp, oh my! The service was great. The atmosphere is cozy. Just bring cash, no credit cards are accepted.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cusegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Their breakfast options rock and the food is amazing! In door and out door seating available...can't wait to come back and try their Eggs Benedict!

Helpful?
Thank roundtripanesthesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
544 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, fantastic food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

After traversing the 17 mile drive, we stopped in for breakfast. We had been told that the Eggs Benedict here was the best in the world---and they were indeed scrumptious. There were many types to choose from, but we opted for the classic. The waffles were crisp on the outside and light and tender on the inside. Fresh warm-ups to our coffee cups were ever available. Friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's Place also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Katy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing