We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of Katy's Place

Katy's Place
Ranked #15 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Modesto, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great breakfast menu and outdoor seating was very nice. Service started off very slow, but they somewhat redeemed themselves once they actually took our order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lauren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    228
    67
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The most awesome breakfast ever!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found out about Katy's Place through Trip Advisor and thought it warranted a visit. We were so glad we did! Over our nearly 3 week vacation in California and Nevada this was easily the best breakfast we had. I have never seen a breakfast menu so long and it wasn't a surprise that there was a constant stream of customers through the door. We only had one day in Carmel but had we had more, Katy's would have been our breakfast spot every day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

huge menu, tons of people, great little place in Carmel-by-the-Sea. I had a waffle absolutely covered in fresh strawberries. I also enjoyed a taste of a delicious omelette and had great, prompt service despite the huge crowd. I wish I would have had more room for a biscuit as I only tried mine. Delish!
I love this cozy, bust, bustling spot with it's total Carmel vibe. Sadly, we went on our last day there--I'd have revisited.

**cash only**

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKP609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wonderful and filling breakfast”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Katy's has a menu that is larger then the standard breakfast fare and so are the portions. My husband and I shared on of the many benedicts because they are all three eggs and three English muffin halves. Think about sharing if you can as no ne around us was able to finish their plates. There is outside dining on the porch and dogs are welcome there. Service was friendly. Overall an excellent way to start the morning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyinIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Remarkable in PRICE not in taste or quality”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

First, the restaurant only takes cash. Our bill for 3 seafood omelets, one western omlet and 2 diet cokes plus tip was over $100 (yes, one hundred dollars). Had this been a WOW breakfast, we would have been fine with the price.

The featured ingredients of the seafood omelet were lobster, shrimp, and crab. Being on the CA coast and at a highly recommended restaurant specializing in breakfast, we expected fresh ingredients. Not so. The shrimp were tiny, canned salad shrimp. The crab was tough (never knew crab could be tough). The lobster bites were few, but the best of the three ingredients. This omelet cost over $20 EACH. It would have been better priced at 3 for $20.

I'm not sure what was "off" in our second son's western omelet, but he ate only half of it. Had made no comment.

The service was slow and when we were finally offered refills on our cokes, the coke was poured from a glass and not a pitcher. I have no idea where that refill glass came from.

Perhaps, our mistake was ordering BIG based on a BIG reputation. This meal was remarkable only in how much it cost versus how much it was really worth.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LyndaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's Place also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Katy's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing