We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tremendous disappointmnet”

Forge in the Forest Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue
Transit: MST stops on Junipero Ave, half block from restaurant
Danville, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A tremendous disappointmnet”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We returned to Forge in the Forest after our charmed experience back in 2006, when we first brought our four-legged son to dine here. Unlike our last experience, this one is an absolute disappointment. First, there are no longer doggie treats on the table for the pooches. Secondly, the human food is at the quality level of a Denny's (in fact, for the price, I'd much prefer Denny's). Third, it took about 20 minutes to get some bread for the table and a whopping 45 minutes to get our food (for a table full of kids, it's not acceptable). Lastly, the cost was extraordinary - we spent more money here for mediocre food than fresh-from-the-sea food from Passionfish in Pacific Grove! The only redeeming aspect of the experience was that our server tried hard to be accommodating - though he was spread thin and there wasn't much he could do about the pace the food was coming out of the kitchen. Don't waste your time or your money here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJWilliamsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    202
    99
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unenthusiastic Diners”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

From soups and salads to desert...there was a marked lack of anything special...except for the service. It was surprising to find that this was the case, because we had preconceived notions about how spectacular this would be. It wasn't, and we would never go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenWesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasteless food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I gave this place 2 stars - one for their dog friendliness and another one for the pleasant and smiling waiter. I ordered the French onion soup and a Caesar salad. The soup looked very appetizing but whatever cheese was baked on top tasted extremely bland. The salad was a more than ample portion. No ground pepper brought to the table so I simply added my own. I have never, ever, been served such a tasteless Caesar salad in my entire life! It was awful. I could not eat it. Our poodles, on the other hand, had no problem attacking the hamburger we ordered for them from the doggy menu. (Extremely greasy but they didn't care).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeaGran27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch Happy Hour”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading about their Happy Hour, listed on their website as M-Th, 4pm-6pm, we called friends to join us there. They arrived first, shortly after 5:00, were seated at an outdoor table but were disappointed to learn from the staff that happy hour ended at 5:00, not 6:00. When we arrived I pulled up the website and it clearly stated 4-6 pm. We spoke with the server who said, "No, that's wrong. Happy hour is over." He decided to check with the manager who came to our table and explained that they were no longer "Forge in the Forest," but are now, "The Forge," and had been for 2 years. Happy hour was definitely over. His attitude was clearly "take it or leave it."
Normally we would have walked out but we were all tired and looking forward to a light supper and drinks so we stayed. The manager did say he'd discount the drinks for us. We ordered several appetizers and one entree, all reasonably tasty but a bit overpriced, and asked for the check. What a shock. The regular drink menu was about three times the price of the happy hour cost and they gave us a 10% discount on drinks only.
We didn't bother to point out to any of them that they may be "The Forge" but their menu, the logo on the tab and everything else printed still said "Forge in the Forest." As locals, we have lots of choices and will definitely never make this choice again. We all recommend you take your business where it will be appreciated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CarmelCoasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
432 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Nice Carmel Restaurant, Dog Friendly”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in Carmel looking for a place to have an early dinner. I noticed that the Forge was "dog friendly", so we brought our Golden Retriever with us and had a very nice dinner on the outside patio. Carmel is known as a "dog friendly" town, so having a pooch in the outdoor art of the restaurant wasn't a big deal for the staff or other guests. The food was good, although a bit spendy. I would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forge in the Forest Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Forge in the Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing