We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Carmel Restaurant, Dog Friendly” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forge in the Forest Restaurant

Forge in the Forest Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue
Transit: MST stops on Junipero Ave, half block from restaurant
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
420 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Nice Carmel Restaurant, Dog Friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were in Carmel looking for a place to have an early dinner. I noticed that the Forge was "dog friendly", so we brought our Golden Retriever with us and had a very nice dinner on the outside patio. Carmel is known as a "dog friendly" town, so having a pooch in the outdoor art of the restaurant wasn't a big deal for the staff or other guests. The food was good, although a bit spendy. I would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OlympicWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    185
    90
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice patio dinning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had our dog with us on our trip to Carmel, so we ended up eating lunch here a couple of times. They have nice, relaxed outdoor dinning. Dogs are allowed. They even have a doggy menu in case fido is hungry. The seafood chowder is excellent, but a little pricy at $12 for a medium size serving. It does have crab and bay scallops in addition to clams. I had the special, which was salmon tacos. It came with a small side green salad. It was all very good. The service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwitter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Forge food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wow, it sounds great. What did you like about it?

It had a great menu which was nice for me and my husband as well as having a good selection for the kids. The cocktails were tasty.

However, ensure you book where you want to sit as there is a bit upstairs on ground level which is really busy with lots of atmosphere but the downstairs section was a little cut off (admittedly it was empty when we were there). We chose to eat outside as there were heaters and there was more atmosphere but my choice would have been the ground floor inside rather than downstairs.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
213 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor eating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

A casual evening sitting out in the courtyard with friends. The food was pretty good - not spectacular. The burger with garlic fried was pretty standard. I would be happy eating here again if I wanted a relaxed evening - although there are a lot of similar kinds of restaurants in Carmel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluekakariki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closes Early. Do Not Go After 8 pm”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Tried to visit this restaurant two days in a row both times we arrived at 8:30 pm. Earlier they said they served till 10 PM But we were turned away both nights just afternoon

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagunatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forge in the Forest Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Forge in the Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing