We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmel favorite”

Forge in the Forest Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue
Transit: MST stops on Junipero Ave, half block from restaurant
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
251 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Carmel favorite”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The patio has fireplaces, walls covered with wagon wheels and ivy, hanging flower baskets and lots of seating make for a great visit. Try the Cobb salad, garlic fries or burger. Basic menu but good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    204
    99
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great setting, shame about the service”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Fabulous outdoor garden area, and very welcoming reception. Food was good quality, especially the ribs, although one of our party did not get the main course they had ordered and by the time this was sorted out everyone else had finished their meal. Manager was very apologetic but the service issues made this a dining experience we would rather forget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Forge Your Way for Potent Margaritas, Fine Dining”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Forge in the Forest is a fine dining restaurant in downtown Carmel. There actually is a small forge located within the restaurant, but we will also remember it for the potent margaritas and the chef's skill with pan-seared halibut and desserts.
The berry margarita, on the menu the night we were there, was probably the strongest margarita I've had in recent years. Made in-house with fresh berries (and no pre-made mix), it is not for the faint of heart or anyone who plans to operate a motor vehicle.
We tried the two halibut entrees on the night's menu: both were pan-seared, with a mango cream sauce and a dijon mustard (dijonnaise) sauce, respectively. Both came with rice and fresh vegetables. The chef is skillful with pan-searing fish, and we enjoyed both dishes.
The chef is also skillful with desserts, and especially the fresh "three-berry" cobbler with vanilla ice cream and fresh whipped cream. It was a fitting way to end our dinner.
Unfortunately, the combination of alcohol, cream sauces and a rich dessert may not be for everyone. I was fine the next day, but my dining companion was not so fortunate... That said, we will certainly return next time we are in Carmel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BechamelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Outdoor Restaurant Setting!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a great outdoor restaurant! We could smell the great aroma coming from the Forge restaurant across the street from our hotel (Carmel Best Western Plus). The outdoor seating consists of a garden like atmosphere with two large fireplaces. There are also heaters to keep you warm at your table. The food was delicious and the service was great. I would definitely eat here again. Thanks for the great meal...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food especially the ribs.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great food and wine. Beer comes in 16 oz or huge litres. Good atmosphere outside with patio heaters if if gets cold. Would come back any day :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brightwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forge in the Forest Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Forge in the Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing