We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forge Your Way for Potent Margaritas, Fine Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forge in the Forest Restaurant

Forge in the Forest Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th Avenue
Transit: MST stops on Junipero Ave, half block from restaurant
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Forge Your Way for Potent Margaritas, Fine Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Forge in the Forest is a fine dining restaurant in downtown Carmel. There actually is a small forge located within the restaurant, but we will also remember it for the potent margaritas and the chef's skill with pan-seared halibut and desserts.
The berry margarita, on the menu the night we were there, was probably the strongest margarita I've had in recent years. Made in-house with fresh berries (and no pre-made mix), it is not for the faint of heart or anyone who plans to operate a motor vehicle.
We tried the two halibut entrees on the night's menu: both were pan-seared, with a mango cream sauce and a dijon mustard (dijonnaise) sauce, respectively. Both came with rice and fresh vegetables. The chef is skillful with pan-searing fish, and we enjoyed both dishes.
The chef is also skillful with desserts, and especially the fresh "three-berry" cobbler with vanilla ice cream and fresh whipped cream. It was a fitting way to end our dinner.
Unfortunately, the combination of alcohol, cream sauces and a rich dessert may not be for everyone. I was fine the next day, but my dining companion was not so fortunate... That said, we will certainly return next time we are in Carmel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BechamelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    185
    90
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Outdoor Restaurant Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a great outdoor restaurant! We could smell the great aroma coming from the Forge restaurant across the street from our hotel (Carmel Best Western Plus). The outdoor seating consists of a garden like atmosphere with two large fireplaces. There are also heaters to keep you warm at your table. The food was delicious and the service was great. I would definitely eat here again. Thanks for the great meal...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food especially the ribs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Great food and wine. Beer comes in 16 oz or huge litres. Good atmosphere outside with patio heaters if if gets cold. Would come back any day :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brightwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great patio, very busy, awful desserts!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The patio was great! Very dog friendly. The entrees and soup were good. However, the desserts were terrible; we ordered the "Trio" and it tasted like diet food. How can you mess up and apple pie, brownie, and a napolean? It seems that most restaurants in Carmel struggle with dessert. They just need to learn to keep it simple instead of trying to reinvent what is already a favorite.
All in all stay away from the dessert menu and you will have a good experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottandJonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Magical atmosphere, great service, fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were recommended to have lunch here by our innkeeper and it was perfect! It was a gorgeous day in Carmel and we sat outside in the beautiful garden patio. Our server Phillipe was wonderful. Attentive, helpful, and very nice. We were served fresh rolls with butter and oil/vinegar right after ordering. Our meals came out really fast and I was grateful because I was starving! I had a pastrami sandwich with fries and my husband had the three beet salad. We ended up splitting our meals so we could try a little of each. Everything was outstanding! My husband also got a Laguna IPA, which he raved about. Not a complaint to be had, it was a wonderful experience and we are so glad we ended up there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cre02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forge in the Forest Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Forge in the Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing