We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice unusual place to have a relaxing dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Ranch Restaurant

Mission Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice unusual place to have a relaxing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Serene location in a meadow overlooking Point Lobos. Casual restaurant but good food. Nice outdoor patio with heaters. Didn't see Clint Eastwood, would've been nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank madgechicag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    339
    103
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Carmel- go ahead, Make My Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great menu, service is wonderful. Piano bar nightly, you never know who will show up and perform. Every night is open mic night. Owned by a certain Mr. Eastwood who has been know to frequent the place. Cottage rentals for that perfect weekend escape!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Was Hoping For Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had heard the story about how Clint had bought this property and were looking forward to having dinner here. We were seated outside and the atmosphere was great. My wife had the ribs, my son had the pork tenderloin and I had the salmon. The flavoring and sides were great, but all of the entrees were over cooked an dry. We were really hoping for better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank varietyseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Mission Ranch was recommended by friends who know I am a carnivore who is also a fan of Clint Eastward! (Gran Torino- what a great movie)

They don't take bookings so I was a bit nervous about going in case there was a long queue but we chose a good time to arrive did not wait long and had the most delicious meal, made all the more enjoyable by our wonderfull server,Steve. We had the beef and it was the most tender and delicious slice of beef I have ever tasted. We shared 2 between 3 ( more than enough for us people from the UK) and it was fantastic. We were lucky enough to be placed at a table by the window so also had the most wonderful views.

If you like meat then this place is a must. If you like great service then this is also a must. Don't count on seeing Clint Eastward though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lordy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food. Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were seated on the heated patio after a short wait in the bar. The service personnel were very friendly and attentive. The food was prepared just the way we expected. Great views and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Ranch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Mission Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing