We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great experience.”

Mission Ranch Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Modesto, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food. Great experience.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were seated on the heated patio after a short wait in the bar. The service personnel were very friendly and attentive. The food was prepared just the way we expected. Great views and atmosphere. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    849
    382
    113
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Went Clint spotting!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Well, you are in Carmel so you gotta try it. Happened apon the Mission ranch mostly by accident and then realised this is the one that Clint bought . As we perused the menu outside (it was closed at this point) a guy spoke to us and gave us a brief potted history of the ranch and Clint ' s involvement. He then said that Clint usually comes in of an evening and has a glass of red wine before phoning his daughter to come and collect him . That did it for us ...we came back later on for dinner. Just in case!
Dinner was good solid meat and fish choices . It was a great atmosphere- old guy on piano battering out tunes. People at the bar having drinks and plenty of diners. It's a big restaurant with a sizeable terrace so it shouldn't be a problem getting a table.
It was fun checking out every man that came in...but no Clint that night. I'm sure it's an urban myth put out to keep the place packed.
We had a great couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jocla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“In and out”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Had drinks and a snack on the patio of the restaurant. Very peaceful and serene environment. Looked at the dinner menu, very pricey even by Carmel standards. Also saw a lot of steaks going back to the kitchen due to improper temp.

It's neat to visit but we won't return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great slab of beef”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Recommended by girl met in coffee shop as place for music in bar. Surprised to find great prime rib and excellent lobster and fillet. Raucous crowd in room without bar but great views all round. Glad to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bjbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fun Place with Beautiful Views and Great Food”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We went to a fabulous brunch on Sunday and back for dinner Monday for my wife's birthday.
The sound of the piano playing songs you recognize sets the tone for the evening. The pastoral view makes for a great mood for fun and relaxation. The brunch on Sunday is one of the best we have ever had. Huge selection all so tasty. For dinner we enjoyed large jumbo prawns and outstanding prime rib. A casual atmosphere with a friendly staff and excellent service was.
If you are in Carmel it will make your day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TWB2006SSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Ranch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Mission Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing