We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anton & Michel

Anton & Michel
Reserve with OpenTable
Anton & Michel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mission Street between Ocean & 7th.
PA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you look at my reviews, you will see that I rarely hand out 5 stars. Tonight was such an occasion.

We received a recommendation of this restaurant from our hotel concierge. We were not disappointed.

Swank interior with a nice view of a pool and fountain. There were people dresses to the nines, but we were still welcome in our our less than perfection dress.

Service was excellent, prompt, and constant.

The kids were pleased with the sour dough bread, salad, and French onion soup. The wife was in heaven with tuna tartar. I was very pleased with the Barramundi entree.

Prices are a little stiff, but it is Carmel. It was worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_Sluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    86
    23
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice find in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

On our first night in Carmel we were exhausted and not pleased by our hotel. Finding this restaurant was a nice ending to a tough travel day. We booked through Open Table, but could have walked right in on a Tuesday night the first week in August. The service was excellent. Husband had scallops with shrimp and pasta, with iceberg wedge with artichoke dressing. I had a filet, which normally comes with shrimp/cheese but I just wanted the filet and they were very accommodating. I had onion soup for my starter which was delicious. Husband had a house wine and total bill was 100.00 which was well worth it. We had a lovely table by the window which overlooks a charming courtyard. Waitstaff is obviously well experienced and the service was faultless. We would have had dessert as it was a lovely menu, but jet lag kicked in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 63TracyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another bad day for the chef”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

There were 4 of us and we all ordered the onion soup and the filet mignon: while the soup was good although on the salty side, the meat was actually inedible- chewy, hard and with an aftertaste and the garlic mashed potato was way too salty to eat. The result was that all 4 of us were unable to eat our plates and we sent them back. Although they did take off 15 percent off our check, it was an overall unpleasant experience and most certainly a missed opportunity for the restaurant. So would not recommend it ....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant, romantic dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Always a wonderful, attentive meal. Fabulous table side preparation of Caesar salad, rack of land and cherries jubilee. Looking for a spectacular way to celebrate? Classic, elegant presentation not to be missed for special occasions in heart of Carmel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rustydog0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We decided to go here on our last night. W sat at the bar. The bartender was so accommodating. The food was more than delicious! Sitting ere relaxing with wine and great food was the perfect ending to our trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2grandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton & Michel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Anton & Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing