We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our go to restaurant in Carmel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anton & Michel

Anton & Michel
Court of the Fountains, Mission Street, Between Ocean and 7th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921-4917
831 624 2406
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Anton & Michel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Mission Street between Ocean & 7th.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our go to restaurant in Carmel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We've been coming to this place for years. The standard remains the same. Great place, very good food, great location. The dining room looks out into a courtyard. It's a perfect place for lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThanksSocialSecurity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    73
    20
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a first class restaurant with quality food and service. Whilst it is at the higher price end the food remains value for money.

Helpful?
Thank tonyg8355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

At the recommendation of a friend, we made reservations at Andre & Michel's to celebrate a teenager's birthday. It was recently renovated and I have no basis of comparison, but the interior space is lovely. We were fortunate to be seated at the window overlooking the courtyard fountain. This reminds me of the old school dining of my parents' era, but the menu was sufficiently interesting to keep it from being boring. There's also an excellent wine list and as another reviewer mentioned, my martini was perfectl Everything was prepared and pleated beautifully and the teenager said it was the best dinner she had ever had!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildewood4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food with great style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Dropped in last night with a friend for a drink and a small bite to eat. The bar is so open and welcoming with the sofas on each side of the fireplace we decided to stay and enjoy the ambience. Started with perfectly prepared martinis and had a good chat. We were never hurried and felt as if we had all night to talk and catch up. We shared the shrimp spring roll which came with a delicious sauce and a small crisp cole slaw. The plate was a flamboyant presentation that was both inviting and inventive. The roasted corn and tomato risotto with a brown butter vinaigrette was sublime. This wonderful classic of a restaurant is well worth a visit. If you've never been you will be in for a treat. For those of us who have known this restaurant for years it's wonderful to see a seasoned friend re-invent himself by keeping the very best of what was there while adding the nicest of face lifts. Bravo!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trombert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Level Contributor
177 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We love this place. The renovation looks great. The food here is always consistently awesome, especially the dinner for two with the tableside caesar salad/roast rack of lamb and flambee dessert. The staff is just fun and knowledgable as always. It's romantic to be by the window and to watch the fountain.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raininroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anton & Michel also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Anton & Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing