We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“....and the hot lunch six amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruno's Market and Deli

Bruno's Market and Deli
Ranked #2 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Pacific Grove
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“....and the hot lunch six amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This upscale market in downtown Carmel is great for some last minute things. A hot lunch is served a tax table near the meat counter. Don't miss it! Different all the time. The meat counter is wonderful, too, with fresh meats of all varieties.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank frenchirishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Deli Delish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

A short walk from our hotel, down Junipero (FYI pronounced like "you" not "june") was a small market and deli. Bruno's was a delight and had exactly what we needed - a big fat sandwich to split, chips and a coke. We bought a few other items for our short stay in Carmel.

The sandwich was very good - made to order, you fill out the piece of paper, check off what you want and they will put it together. Fresh and yummy! Reasonable price. Great for a picnic, but it gets a little messy since it's so big. Grab extra napkins!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A convenient convenience store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

The store stocks a very wide range of foods and we soon found the things we needed for our 3 day stay in Carmel (picnic items and food we could prepare in the hotel's microwave).
Staying at the Comfort Inn, Brunos was certainly convenient!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank VisitorfromFLUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Grab deli lunch for picnics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

They have a deli here and a fridge case for pre-made sandwiches or wraps which can be very convenient before a hike day or a day driving the 17 mile drive if you want a picnic with you. It's cheaper than trying some of the other sandwich shops around. (We got ours for about 3.99 each.) Our only complaint is they were slightly soggy after a few hours. But we liked not paying about $10 for each sandwich from a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great tri-tip sandwich and brocolli salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

In downtown Carmel and near Carmel Plaza, this market and deli serves freshly made sandwiches (along with ready made sandwiches if you don't want to wait). To order a freshly made sandwich, there is a small form at the deli counter to fill indicating which ingredients you would like.

My wife and I shared a tri-tip sandwich, chicken corn dog, and broccoli salad. The sandwich was very large, with a delicious sauce, without being too messy. The excellent salad was extremely fresh topped with dried cranberries and pine nuts. The microwaved corn dog was surprisingly pretty good.

There is a park diagonally across from the deli where you can enjoy your meal or drive down Ocean Ave to the beautiful Carmel Beach for a picnic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Market and Deli also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Bruno's Market and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing