We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less Costly Dining Option in Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruno's Market and Deli

Bruno's Market and Deli
Ranked #2 of 6 Bakeries in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Less Costly Dining Option in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Carmel has many fine dining options. For example, see my comments on "Forge in the Forest." However, after a long and somewhat frustrating day sightseeing in Monterey,we were looking for a less costly, faster, and more informal dining option. Bruno's Market, near our hotel, was an excellent choice.
We had the deli countermen prepare fresh roast beef sandwiches for us. With bottled waters and two desserts each (slice of raspberry pie, cranberry muffin, brownie, bread pudding) the tab came to $24.50, compared with over $100 for a more fancy sit-down meal.
We came back the following morning to buy picnic lunch fixins for our day at Point Lobos State Reserve. The deli counter was not open at the time, but we were able to buy pre-made turkey sandwiches and bottled drinks for our picnic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BechamelDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    47
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Everton, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Deli in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were on a bus tour headed for Monterrey with a lunch stop in Carmel-by-the-Sea - having had so many full course meals and looking for lighter lunches, was asked our Trafalgar tour director for a sandwich place. He showed us how to walk to Bruno's. We saw the sheer size of the sandwiches and opted to share one which we took to the little nearby city park and inhaled while sitting on a bench in the sun. This is really a little market with a deli counter in the back - and they do a good sandwich which was obvious by the number of people lined up at the counter. Just one of those little places you will always remember.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This store has a little of everything and is very conveniently located. We stopped in several times and picked up french, bread cheese and salads for our last evening in Carmel.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“How am I the first person to review this gem?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you are looking for an awesome, fresh, deli sandwhich....look no further than Brunos Market.

We found this place by chance, and were glad we did. In the back is a full deli that will make you anything you want. I had a roast beef with cheese and coleslaw (my go-to), but there are hundreds of options if you wanted to spend some time there.

There is also a full market (not markey as the name states!), where we stocked up on some great snacks to take for sunset.

Lots of beer and wine options as well, literally everything you need in 1 stop. AND IT WAS CHEAP! Not very common in Carmel....enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Market and Deli also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Bruno's Market and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing