We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GNO (girls night out) in California!”
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ranked #11 of 158 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GNO (girls night out) in California!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

LOVED the cocktails! The oysters were okay...but I'm from the East Coast and am completely spoiled when it comes to oysters! Other apps we had were fine....we only had apps in all fairness. The dining space is small but comfortable. The location can't be beat...it's right on the main boulevard. Service was friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank annab25763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    177
    42
    16
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“AW SHUCKS-no fried oysters”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Went here for an appetizer while waiting for dinner elsewhere. The place was busy on a Monday night which appeared to be a good sign. As it is an oyster bar- we thought we could get fried oysters. You can get fried fish and fried shrimp, and fried calamari here-but aw shucks-no fried oysters. We had some ho hum clam chowder and left. Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Oysters!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Yummy oysters and fish tacos, this little dive on the main street of Carmel is a good place to get your seafood craving satisfied. Very good service as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redraisinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The spot right on Ocean Ave for oyster lovers”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Okay, have to admit…the name stopped us in our tracks. Looked in and saw a lively, happy crowd. Greeted by very friendly, lovely hostesses. Service was surprisingly fast for the crowd and very friendly. The oysters (choices!!) were fresh and very good. Perfect for a quick bite and rest break from shopping or for a leisurely meal with drinks. Will definitely return next trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chilvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Repast”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

When my wife and I were visiting Carmel for the first time today we decided to have a modest lunch. Being East Coasters we enjoy New England clam chowder and seek it out wherever we can find it all over the country. We found the A. W. Shucks restaurant on the main shopping road through Carmel, Ocean Avenue, and clam chowder was featured on their promotional materials and menu.

We both ordered bowls of clam chowder and we weren't disappointed with our choice - it was delicious. We were asked about, and given, a basket of fresh bread and that too, was super. We prefer standard ice tea from black tea but this restaurant offered some kind of flavored tea; it wasn't what we were expecting but it was good and included a lot of ice to keep it cool.

The service we received on this visit was outstanding. We enjoyed our visit to this restaurant a lot and will make it a regular stop on future visits to Carmel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing