We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody Marys, Oysters, Rose Chowder...what could be better?”
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ranked #10 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bloody Marys, Oysters, Rose Chowder...what could be better?”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have taken to eating at least once at AW Shucks whenever I'm in Carmel, and I'm never disappointed. Whether at the bar or a table, the service is efficient. I see the bartenders making all kinds of great-looking drinks, but I can't seem to stop ordering their Bloody Mary, and am never disappointed. Their seafood appetizer plate is easily enough for 2 with the addition of their incredibly wonderful rose clam chowder...a "gotta try" on their menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marysze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    173
    42
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Best Crab Louie salad ever in quantity & quality of crab delicious. Excellent service and bar. Will go back whenever I am in Carmel. Located on Ocean Ave with all the shops so great place to stop for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“More than an oyster bar”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

1. Great bar with an incredible array of spirits.
2. One of the best burgers in town.
3. Great fish & chips.
4. And of course, oysters!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
743 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“More than just an oyster bar”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The bell hop in our hotel suggested a few places to eat and said 'Shuck's is more than just an oyster bar'. My kids thought it was a hilarious line, but it worked and we remembered, so when we walked past we decided to pop in. We tried a selection of dishes, crab cakes, clam chowder, a sandwich and they were all very good. The service was attentive, as the bar is reasonably small. The price was reasonable for the location. Oddly enough none of us tried the oysters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Odd reason for 5 stars”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The first weekend in August my wife and I were roaming around Carmel. Something we do regularly. It was lunch so we added our name to the wait list, because we wanted to try something other than our old haunts.
There on the menu was A TOASTED CHEESE SANDWICH. For someone in Carmel to be that grounded to put that on a menu, it has to be a first. It was a delicious dose of comfort. Toasted to perfection with gobs of cheese and well buttered. The french fries topped it. The quantity matched the quality. The reposado marguerita was great as was my wife's Long Island tea. Atmosphere was of a busy pub, with a good mixture of clientele. Clean, friendly, efficient, and the prices were good too. We'll come back when in need of comfort this fall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgwbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing