We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just an oyster bar”
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ranked #11 of 161 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
1,011 reviews
741 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“More than just an oyster bar”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The bell hop in our hotel suggested a few places to eat and said 'Shuck's is more than just an oyster bar'. My kids thought it was a hilarious line, but it worked and we remembered, so when we walked past we decided to pop in. We tried a selection of dishes, crab cakes, clam chowder, a sandwich and they were all very good. The service was attentive, as the bar is reasonably small. The price was reasonable for the location. Oddly enough none of us tried the oysters.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    178
    46
    17
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, CA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Odd reason for 5 stars”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The first weekend in August my wife and I were roaming around Carmel. Something we do regularly. It was lunch so we added our name to the wait list, because we wanted to try something other than our old haunts.
There on the menu was A TOASTED CHEESE SANDWICH. For someone in Carmel to be that grounded to put that on a menu, it has to be a first. It was a delicious dose of comfort. Toasted to perfection with gobs of cheese and well buttered. The french fries topped it. The quantity matched the quality. The reposado marguerita was great as was my wife's Long Island tea. Atmosphere was of a busy pub, with a good mixture of clientele. Clean, friendly, efficient, and the prices were good too. We'll come back when in need of comfort this fall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgwbita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are from Australia and this is our third time we have been here. The service, food and ambience is excellent. Thank you Michelle and Michael and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susie63255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome Overall- even with so-so service and one bad app-”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Over all the experience and the food make this joint an A+++, however our server was a little confused and one appetizer (calamari) was not very good.

The jumbo breaded shrimp!!! Wowzer!!!!! The salads and sandwiches yumm! and the baked clams.... I feared I wouldn't like them but my goodness we ordered a second tray!!!!

my portion of veggies came in one of the most delicious Bloody Mary's ever. Score!

It's on a main road and has a local attendance as well as tourist so expect a slight wait time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahbannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Shucks is right on Ocean Ave.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great fast moving rest in the heart of Carmel. Terrific oysters and food in general.
If you like oysters, go there

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing