We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of our favourites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ranked #12 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We are from Australia and this is our third time we have been here. The service, food and ambience is excellent. Thank you Michelle and Michael and thank you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susie63255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    150
    37
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome Overall- even with so-so service and one bad app-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Over all the experience and the food make this joint an A+++, however our server was a little confused and one appetizer (calamari) was not very good.

The jumbo breaded shrimp!!! Wowzer!!!!! The salads and sandwiches yumm! and the baked clams.... I feared I wouldn't like them but my goodness we ordered a second tray!!!!

my portion of veggies came in one of the most delicious Bloody Mary's ever. Score!

It's on a main road and has a local attendance as well as tourist so expect a slight wait time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hannahbannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deephaven, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Shucks is right on Ocean Ave.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Great fast moving rest in the heart of Carmel. Terrific oysters and food in general.
If you like oysters, go there

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“It was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped in for an early dinner our first night in Carmel, and sat at the bar and ate. It was crowded as most places in Carmel, but the food was good and plentiful and we enjoyed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2traveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good lunch spot in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch on the main street restaurant in Carmel.
Great salads, great burgers.
There are many choices in this area, but if you can get a table ( we got lucky ), enjoy !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing