We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good lunch spot in Carmel”
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ranked #11 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
miami
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good lunch spot in Carmel”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Enjoyed our lunch on the main street restaurant in Carmel.
Great salads, great burgers.
There are many choices in this area, but if you can get a table ( we got lucky ), enjoy !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    177
    43
    16
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Only if You Want Oysters”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The raw oysters are good and fresh. The crab louie is prepared with a huge mound of completely tasteless crab. Nice space, but over-crowded and stuffy. The Bloody Marys are good. The service was slow, but it was there was a crowd. In summary, an OK bar with good oysters, but not an appealing spot for a pleasant lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Married an unrepentent oyster lover”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife jumped when she discovered A.W. Shucks in Carmel. We arrived for a one night stay in Monterey and the discovery came right out of the hotel's menu book while I checked in.

The restaurant is on Carmel's main drag, surrounded by all those upscale stores and hidden alleyways in a place I have always enjoyed. The hostess took our cell #, then called a half hour later to let us know that our counter space was ready. That's right, everyone sits high at one of several bars. We got lucky. Our seats were right up close to the shucking action.

Not being an oyster person, I ordered the calimari with a side of clam chowder. My much more adventuresome spouse, however, just had to have a dozen raw, also with chowder on the side.

She declared the fresh oysters, attractively served about 60 seconds after shucking, as some of the best she's ever had. Four varieties were on the plate, all great.

My calimari, while not the best ever (that distinction goes to Tadish Grill in San Francisco), were just a point or two lower. The only slight disappointment was the chowder. It was a full step below the best, but still very good. Served with nice oyster crackers and a really nice crusty slices of sweet french bread, the bowl is quite filling.

Our seats afforded us front-row visibility as the chefs cooked and assembled large plates of the restaurant's wide choices. Non-oyster lovers will find plenty to like here. Servings are generous and presentations are attractive.

We also ordered the local wheat beer from Carmel Brewing. It was a genuine hefeweizen in flavor, very enjoyable and refreshing with no hint of bitterness that some American wheat beers seem unable to shuck (pun unintended).

We were too full to go for dessert but noted that the key lime pie was darn tempting.

A.W. Shucks in Carmel is small so expect a wait most nights. Highly recommended and I hope they open in my home town. We'd be regulars. The price is not exactly low -- our dinner exceeded $60. Worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Oysters and Bloody Marys”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our first night in Carmel and this was a great place to start! Lively crowd, good service, and excellent food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amcanrer95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A friendly atmosphere with a good choice and generous portions of food. Worth making reservations as it was very popular.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mrfarandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing