We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Want to drop $40 for lunch?”
Review of A W Shucks

A W Shucks
Ranked #10 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Want to drop $40 for lunch?”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We got a Margarita and a Sierra Nevada, the Margarita was really good, Sierra Nevada right there, perfect. Finding a good Margarita is no joke. We also got the "oyster’s shuck-a-feller". Get it? Pretty funny huh? All sarcasm aside they were really good; Parmesan crust over a juicy oyster, nice. We also got clam chowder. Let me offer some advice to A. W.; leave out the stuff that tastes bad. Also leave out the carrots, try bacon instead. You can't lose with bacon. Every schmuck on Monterey's fisherman’s' wharf makes better clam chowder. Nobody is perfect; we enjoyed the place, but skip the clam chowder

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fenthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    169
    42
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had the raw oysters to start, then the soup (clam chowder) and half sandwich (seafood salad). It was all great.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethE0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun but inconsistent”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As another reviewer remarked, the hustle and bustle of this place is fun. We were lucky two nights in a row to find two seats at the bar. The first night we enjoyed Martinis, a local chardonnay and a very good prawn cocktail. The jumbo sized prawns seemed fresh and the cocktail sauce had a nice bite to it. We tried the crab cocktail the following night and it was definitely not fresh. Crab has to be fresh to be good and this was not it. We should have asked but always take it for granted around these parts Service is prompt and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maya002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Usually Great...”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visiting Carmel, a favorite stop is A W Shucks, however, this last visit was not up to usual standards. The staff were great and we like the hustle and bustle of the place. This time the food was not good... hubby ordered fish and chips, which looked amazing, but was not cook all the way and he said he thought that even the cooked portion tasted funky. We were going to a big dinner that evening, so he did not send it back or complain and in hind site, probably should have. He settled with the Rose Chowder, which we both had and loved... it is a combination of Manhattan and New England clam chowder, which is yummy! I hate to give them a 3 rating, but have to be honest about this visit. We will give it another try next time in Carmel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bgonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Oyster cravings satisfied”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had really bad oyster cravings, so we were extremely happy to know that there was an oyster bar in Carmel.

They serve 3 kinds of oysters in which you can select specifically those that you wanted or just do a mix. The oysters were really fresh, and we were delighted to know that they served oyster shooters.

The calamari, crab cakes and fish and chips were also nicely battered that you can enjoy it even without any sauce.

In fact, it was so good we had to come back here a second time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A W Shucks also viewed

 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to A W Shucks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing