We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK but not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Merlot Bistro - CLOSED

Merlot Bistro
Cuisines: Italian, French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Atmosphere was great -- we sat adjacent to a glass fire pit. Service left something to be desired - sat for 10 minutes before being offered water or anything else. I believe that it was due to a shift change but nevertheless, for the prices charged and the type of eating establishment, I expected better. Food was good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    48
    24
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
254 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant in the middle of downtown Carmel. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was wonderful. It is very nicely decorated and caters to both the the business and vacation customers of Carmel. The food both looked and tasted delicious, and the "owner" stopped by each table to say "hi" and to make sure everything was OK. This was a wonderful experience on our first visit to Carmel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DenverDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
262 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Going restaurant to restaurant reading menus and this sounded pretty good. We stopped for lunch. Husband and I both enjoyed our meals very much. Staff was excellent, great location. Would definitely eat here again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TCM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice looking restaurant and the service was great. The food was just average. I ordered the tenderloin with the pancake potatoes. I ended up with red potatoes. My daughter had the fettichini and she ate the whole thing. Bread fresh and hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Romanticgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went to dinner here after a packed filled day. It was very nice, quiet and priced very reasonable. They have a special fixed dinner price that was very good. Enjoyed the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 2grandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merlot Bistro also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing