We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great breakfast, huge serving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the LOWER level of the Barnyard Shopping Village - below Bay Bikes. The back stairs face Highway One. Since 1977, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it's impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on remodeled patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, huge serving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hubby and I live locally and woke up Sunday morning hungry for a big breakfast. I googled breakfast Carmel and this came up as number four. Hard to find, so take my tip and just drive around the back of the Barnyard property and park back there. However a walk through the Barnyard gardens is always a treat. If you are lucky it is a Lottery, weather wise you can sit outside. However Carmel is known for its fog and inside is cozy atmosphere and the menu is awesome. Hubby got the bacon cheese omelette and I got the house made corned beef hash with poached eggs and fruit. Huge servings here, bomb coffee, huge mimosas and great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vdoolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    86
    24
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Foster City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts, dog-friendly patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice outdoor patio, perfect for dining with our dog. Covered by trellis, so it's not completely sheltered, but the restaurant is tucked back on the bottom floor and sheltered by the surrounding shops for a very quiet and pleasant area. Never ate inside, but it seems even more compact and crowded inside.

Prices are a bit on the high side especially considering the smaller portion sizes, but this is Carmel after all -- not a place to stuff yourself, but quality is pretty good. Absolutely love the corned beef hash -- nice big chunks of real corned beef so it tastes like you're eating corned beef (and not just salty mush or tiny reddish brown bits...)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Food and Dog Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A very nice breakfast and lunch place in the Barnyard Shopping Center of Carmel. Indoor and outside seating that allows dogs to enjoy the patio as well. Full menu of breakfast and lunch items and reasonably priced. Specialty omelets or you can build your own. Skillets, pancakes, and even biscuits and gravy. The service is wonderful but can slow down a bit when the place gets busy. Great place to start the morning or to enjoy a fun lunch with friends or family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Big Mugs of Coffee, Good food, service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

On our visit, we had the nicest and most friendly waitress. The food was delish. We had the cinnamon french toast and breakfast burrito. They serve breakfast late, so that was a huge plus for us. Parking is easy as it is in a shopping center. It is towards the back of the shopping center, so once you park just walk towards the middle on the lower level. Best of all, the coffee is served in nice big mugs like at home. The day we were there, they came by often to top off and refill our coffees.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atm4966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Large portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

After reading the reviews, we decided to eat lunch here. I had the tuna fish salad. It was a large portion of canned tuna, on top of lettuce, surrounded by several different kinds of chopped vegetables. I enjoyed it more then I expected and couldn't finish it, because I got too full. My husband had a custom omelette. He said it was dry, as if over cooked. His meal came with with potatoes and fruit, which he said were good. They have a nice outdoor patio, which I found to be relaxing. We had our dog with us and dogs are allowed here on the patio. Our server was very friendly and efficient. The restaurant was not busy while we were there. Their prices are reasonable for what you get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dwitter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing