We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hard to find, but worth the hunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the LOWER level of the Barnyard Shopping Village - below Bay Bikes. The back stairs face Highway One. Since 1977, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it's impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on remodeled patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the hunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had to walk around the maze of a shopping area to find the place, but once we did, it was great! The waitress was great - very personable and attentive. The food was DELICIOUS and definitely "From Scratch" - if we had found it earlier during our visit we would have gone back daily!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allamanda777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    83
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, CT
Level Contributor
426 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but hard to find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Tucked beneath the Barnyard Shopping Village, this place is tough to find. But we had a good breakfast and enjoyed the coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bjproducts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Service excellent. Anything on the menu is great. The Pebble Beach omelet is the best. So big need to share with my husband. Have a mimosa with your breakfast. Coffee is great. Location is great especially after running.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlsbps123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Too Slow and Too hard to find”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a Tuesday morning and we waited almost half an hour to get served breakfast. Great place to go if you need to kill a morning or have all the time in the world. food was so - so. Service is the worst.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xxxtraveltoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not much to rave about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I saw the good reviews and took a chance..not a good move on my part. We had the worst waitress ever. The only thing nice I can say is that the food was mediocre and the waitress was friendly..super slow and confused but friendly..steer clear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redhead691869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing