We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not much to rave about” 2 of 5 stars
Review of From Scratch Restaurant

From Scratch Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 153 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $9
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the LOWER level of the Barnyard Shopping Village - below Bay Bikes. The back stairs face Highway One. Since 1977, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it's impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on remodeled patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not much to rave about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I saw the good reviews and took a chance..not a good move on my part. We had the worst waitress ever. The only thing nice I can say is that the food was mediocre and the waitress was friendly..super slow and confused but friendly..steer clear.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redhead691869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    82
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
317 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After reading the glowing reviews about breakfast we decided to try it on a Saturday morning. I thought the Carmel omelet was a bit overdone in that it was way too dry. I prefer my omelettes fluffier. It was enough for two meals but reheating it only made it drier. I also thought the biscuit was dry. I did like the potatoes though. My spouse had one pancake and it filled the plate. He said it was very good. The server was friendly but was trying to train a new employee which was taking up a lot of her time. It's a small area for the employees to navigate in the work area behind the counter so it must be difficult to keep things flowing at a comfortable pace but it seemed like a happy "family" of employees.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA, USA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Carmel Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Wonderful cheese biscuits. Good portions. Good service. A little hard to find. Indoor a bit close, & outdoor dog friendly. Go here multiple times a year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Local93921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden jewel. When we sat down we noticed everyone's meal around us looked fresh, homemade, and plentiful. My wife and I ordered different things so we could share. Everything we had was great and would highly recommend this place to anyone willing to listen. Try the cheddar biscuit!
Get there early as this place fills up quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank boydpga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent omelets and cheese biscuits!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Come for the cheese biscuits, stay for the omelettes. Choose your own ingredients - super! The cheese biscuits are excellent. While one of our party said these were not as good as Red Lobster's, these are still very, very good. Potatoes are ok - good, not great. The service was very good. Reading some of the recent reviews, we were a little concerned but very friendly staff. No coffee refills were offered. I'm sure they would have provided these if asked but this did agree with other reviewers. Also, one order was slightly incorrect in that the cheese was forgotten from the burger. This was quickly fixed so we did not hold it against them. Still highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catgetsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing