We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

From Scratch Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in the LOWER level of the Barnyard Shopping Village - below Bay Bikes. The back stairs face Highway One. Since 1977, this charming, family owned restaurant has been serving breakfast and lunch made from the freshest of ingredients lovingly prepared by an expert chef. From Eggs Benedict to made-to-order omelettes to the best Huevos Rancheros around, it's impossible to beat their award-winning breakfasts. The restaurant is available for private parties in the evening. Enjoy your meal inside next to the fireplace or outside on remodeled patio. Pet friendly! We hope to see you soon. Come check out our new Burger Menu!
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden jewel. When we sat down we noticed everyone's meal around us looked fresh, homemade, and plentiful. My wife and I ordered different things so we could share. Everything we had was great and would highly recommend this place to anyone willing to listen. Try the cheddar biscuit!
Get there early as this place fills up quickly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boydpga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    93
    28
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent omelets and cheese biscuits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Come for the cheese biscuits, stay for the omelettes. Choose your own ingredients - super! The cheese biscuits are excellent. While one of our party said these were not as good as Red Lobster's, these are still very, very good. Potatoes are ok - good, not great. The service was very good. Reading some of the recent reviews, we were a little concerned but very friendly staff. No coffee refills were offered. I'm sure they would have provided these if asked but this did agree with other reviewers. Also, one order was slightly incorrect in that the cheese was forgotten from the burger. This was quickly fixed so we did not hold it against them. Still highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catgetsdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Friends advised us to be sure and stop and highly recommended the food. It was great!!! We used our GPS which lead us to the location of shops but we still had to ask for directions with all the shops around. It is located between two buildings and down some steps. The staff was friendly with good service. The banana pancakes are fabulous and the batter was well cooked around the banana slices. The skillet scramble was perfect and easily fed my husband and I. The waitress divided it for us. When she brought our food, I thought she had mistakenly ordered two due to the large portions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tkdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. Large portions so if you don't eat a lot you might want to split! We had the huevos rancheros with their homemade chorizo and our taste buds screamed with delight. Our friends had the skillet scramble and absolutely loved it. Their sausage is amazing as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank motherpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Pancakes are huge and fluffy, corned beef hash was the real deal. Portions were ample, service was fine. An all around great breakfast experience (even if it was 11:30am).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed From Scratch Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to From Scratch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing