We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Exquisite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
Reserve with OpenTable
Grasing's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 155 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: Grasing’s, located in downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea, lies along the Pacific Coast in Central California in Monterey County. It is 120 miles south of San Francisco, 70 miles south of San Jose and 350 miles north of Los Angeles. Celebrity chef partners, Kurt Grasing and Narsai David, truly created a gem. Fancifully designed in warm hues and modern art work, Grasing’s sets the stage for entertaining that is at once festive and intimate. From friendly and professional service, an award winning wine list and seasonally inspired cocktails to the fresh and sustainable local ingredients are only a few reasons why Grasing’s still receives rave reviews from the press. Just recently, Grasing’s was awarded “Restaurant of the Year” and “Business of the Year” by the Carmel Business Association. Chef Grasing was also honored recently by the American Culinary Federation and received an award for “Chef of the Year”.
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and Exquisite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

They have an incredible and reasonably priced "wine by the glass" list. The staff is very wine savvy. The food is delicious! Before you get too caught up in the menu, ask what the specials are because there is a good chance you will change you mind even though you were set on something else. This is a white table cloth restaurant but you can go casual. Nice bar that is open until 11. This is important as this town closes early.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    149
    59
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb start to our California trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Grasings was the perfect, charming Carmel Restaurant to begin our California bucket list trip. Paula, our waitress, recommended a gorgeous red, Carmel Valley, California ( of course!) wine which we will search out and take some home. The wine list is a book with dozens of pages for those of you who like abundant choices.

The freshness of all food was my number 1 priority, and they scored. I loved the sea bass while hubby had the scallops. Beef is their speciality and looked fabulous as we watched nearby table's food go by.

Great experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne' H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We stay in Carmel frequently but never tried Grasing's until last night. It's fantastic -service,food,ambiance, the whole package. Went to #1 on our list!

Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Grasing is one of the best meals you will have in Carmel. The ambience is perfect, the service outstanding, and the food creative and scrumptious. Overall this was an excellent dining experience. The food was well prepared and the selections were varied and interesting. Damien was an excellent server with good suggestions, descriptions, and attentiveness. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a dining experience somewhat above most other restaurants in the area. Kurt Grasing's creations are tasty and subtle...just right.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luckmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I had the seared scallop dish and it was outstanding. But what I would like to commend the restaurant for - is treating all of its patrons equally. I was a solo dinner, and I was treated just as cordially and respectfully as the diners who were dropped off by their limousines. I wish I didn't live so far away - as I'd go back as often as I could.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dashabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing