We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Occasion or any night!”
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
Reserve with OpenTable
Grasing's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: As a restaurant with an impressive contemporary menu, Grasing’s offers the finest coastal cuisine paired with a ‘Wine Spectator’ awarding winning wine list featuring the best California wines. For a true Carmel experience, enjoy dinner on the pet-friendly patio. In March of 1998 Kurt opened the door to his namesake restaurant: Grasing’s. In an impressive first year it received enthusiastic reviews and was voted Best New Restaurant and Best Chef by the readers of Adventures in Dining Magazine. Grasings has been featured in Bon Appetit Magazine’s Best of the Year issue in 2004, and was awarded Carmel Business Association’s Business of the Year award that same year. Carmel Magazine proclaimed Grasing’s the Critic’s Choice. Grasing’s was awarded Carmel Business Association’s Restaurant of the Year as well as a Celebrated Chef of the Year Award from the American Culinary Federation – Monterey Chapter, in 2007. In 2013 Grasing’s was voted Best Restaurant in Carmel by the readers of the Monterey County Weekly. Carmel Pine Cone Readers Poll named Grasing’s the Best Restaurant for a Steak in 2014 and 2015. Open Table diners conferred a 2015 Diner’s Choice Award on Grasing’s and Trip Advisor has given Grasing’s a Certificate of Excellence in 2015 and 2016. 2016 also brought Grasing’s a win for the Best Restaurant for a Special Occasion in 2016 from the Carmel Pine Cone Readers Poll. In 2010, Kurt revamped Grasing’s by constructing a new bar and lounge along with completing a restaurant make-over. The warm hues and contemporary decor in the restaurant and bar gives Grasing’s an even more inviting atmosphere, giving it a new look with the same great food and first-rate service to which guests are accustomed.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special Occasion or any night!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed the steak and chanterelle mushrooms. The staff was very attentive. I do not drink but they have an extensive wine and spirit list. Nice for a special celebration.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenTravels429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    156
    62
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosphere on the patio”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely atmosphere. Good service. Food is fresh and tasty. The Mai Tai's are delicious, but lethal. Definitely worth a stop in Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank augustamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is one of our favorites in Carmel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have always had outstanding service at Grasing's. The food is always amazing and fresh. We travel with our dog and they are always happy to see her and bring her a water bowl and dog treats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoneedsajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Please cut the meat off the bone...”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another dog friendly restaurant. What made this dinner so memorable were our dog loving fellow diners. One man at the table next to us shared pictures of his dog.

And the couple at another table were sad about having left their dogs at home (They were from South Africa) so the woman offered our Aussie the rest of her veal chop. I jokingly said that our dog, "Only eats meat that's cut from the bone."

The woman then sliced off the rest of the veal and put it on her bread plate and placed it in front of our very grateful dog.

The food was delicious for us humans but the friendliness of our fellow patrons is what will remain an indelible memory.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Packer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bar Only”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not eat at the restauarant though it looks fantastic...i'ts on our list for the next visit to Carmel.

We did sit at the bar. Great energy. Great bartender who mixed up something custom for my wife that she really enjoyed. He knew quite a bit about the local wine scene and was quite engaging.

We ordered the truffle popcorn sitting up there which went perfect w/the drinks before dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing