We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Special Occasion or any night!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
Reserve with OpenTable
Grasing's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: Grasing’s, located in downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea, lies along the Pacific Coast in Central California in Monterey County. It is 120 miles south of San Francisco, 70 miles south of San Jose and 350 miles north of Los Angeles. Celebrity chef partners, Kurt Grasing and Narsai David, truly created a gem. Fancifully designed in warm hues and modern art work, Grasing’s sets the stage for entertaining that is at once festive and intimate. From friendly and professional service, an award winning wine list and seasonally inspired cocktails to the fresh and sustainable local ingredients are only a few reasons why Grasing’s still receives rave reviews from the press. Just recently, Grasing’s was awarded “Restaurant of the Year” and “Business of the Year” by the Carmel Business Association. Chef Grasing was also honored recently by the American Culinary Federation and received an award for “Chef of the Year”.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Special Occasion or any night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter and I really enjoyed the steak and chanterelle mushrooms. The staff was very attentive. I do not drink but they have an extensive wine and spirit list. Nice for a special celebration.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenTravels429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    142
    57
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Friendly service, nice atmosphere on the patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely atmosphere. Good service. Food is fresh and tasty. The Mai Tai's are delicious, but lethal. Definitely worth a stop in Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank augustamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is one of our favorites in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have always had outstanding service at Grasing's. The food is always amazing and fresh. We travel with our dog and they are always happy to see her and bring her a water bowl and dog treats.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whoneedsajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Please cut the meat off the bone...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another dog friendly restaurant. What made this dinner so memorable were our dog loving fellow diners. One man at the table next to us shared pictures of his dog.

And the couple at another table were sad about having left their dogs at home (They were from South Africa) so the woman offered our Aussie the rest of her veal chop. I jokingly said that our dog, "Only eats meat that's cut from the bone."

The woman then sliced off the rest of the veal and put it on her bread plate and placed it in front of our very grateful dog.

The food was delicious for us humans but the friendliness of our fellow patrons is what will remain an indelible memory.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Packer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Bar Only”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did not eat at the restauarant though it looks fantastic...i'ts on our list for the next visit to Carmel.

We did sit at the bar. Great energy. Great bartender who mixed up something custom for my wife that she really enjoyed. He knew quite a bit about the local wine scene and was quite engaging.

We ordered the truffle popcorn sitting up there which went perfect w/the drinks before dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBPinotFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing