We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Lunch”
Review of Grasing's

Grasing's
Reserve with OpenTable
Grasing's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sixth & Mission
Description: As a restaurant with an impressive contemporary menu, Grasing’s offers the finest coastal cuisine paired with a ‘Wine Spectator’ awarding winning wine list featuring the best California wines. For a true Carmel experience, enjoy dinner on the pet-friendly patio. In March of 1998 Kurt opened the door to his namesake restaurant: Grasing’s. In an impressive first year it received enthusiastic reviews and was voted Best New Restaurant and Best Chef by the readers of Adventures in Dining Magazine. Grasings has been featured in Bon Appetit Magazine’s Best of the Year issue in 2004, and was awarded Carmel Business Association’s Business of the Year award that same year. Carmel Magazine proclaimed Grasing’s the Critic’s Choice. Grasing’s was awarded Carmel Business Association’s Restaurant of the Year as well as a Celebrated Chef of the Year Award from the American Culinary Federation – Monterey Chapter, in 2007. In 2013 Grasing’s was voted Best Restaurant in Carmel by the readers of the Monterey County Weekly. Carmel Pine Cone Readers Poll named Grasing’s the Best Restaurant for a Steak in 2014 and 2015. Open Table diners conferred a 2015 Diner’s Choice Award on Grasing’s and Trip Advisor has given Grasing’s a Certificate of Excellence in 2015 and 2016. 2016 also brought Grasing’s a win for the Best Restaurant for a Special Occasion in 2016 from the Carmel Pine Cone Readers Poll. In 2010, Kurt revamped Grasing’s by constructing a new bar and lounge along with completing a restaurant make-over. The warm hues and contemporary decor in the restaurant and bar gives Grasing’s an even more inviting atmosphere, giving it a new look with the same great food and first-rate service to which guests are accustomed.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
628 reviews
526 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and i had lunch here we shared the crab cake as appertiser which was very nice for main i had the strip steak and my wife had the turkey sandwich also good service was ok worth a visit

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    159
    63
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, kids even liked it!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fantastic appetizer cheese/fruit platter, starter steamed artichoke with crab was on small side, but good. No kids menu but they enjoyed mac-n-cheese, also filet tips served on top of mozzarella crispy potato chips (like gourmet nachos!) Service a little slow but attentive. Nice dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Texasbirdy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the food and drinks”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We sat at the bar - our favourite spot - and had a fantastic time. Ira the bartender was awesome. We watched him manage difficult clients, naive clients, valued customers, and some really odd requests. He handled it all with enthusiasm and a smile on his face. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brianne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Interesting apps; great bar service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stopped in on a Saturday night to get a drink and an appetizer. We had no reservation but found a high top at the surprisingly empty bar (it quickly filled so I think we just got lucky on that). Our waitress was helpful in making drink and appetizer recommendations. She was a little short but it was clear her motivation was staying on top of all of her customers' needs so we didn't mind. The expresso martini and "new fashioned" were awesome .... you have to try their spiced whiskey drinks! The filet mignon & chips and tuna tartar appetizers were very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just OK for me...”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Found the appetizers and entrees very average with a fairly expensive price tag. The staff was reasonably knowledgable and attentive. A very forgettable meal for me with one exception...THE ALMOND cake. It is highly unlikely that I will return to this restaurant but I could be seduced by that alone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grasing's also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Grasing's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing