We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ate Here Twice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portabella

Portabella
Reserve with OpenTable
Portabella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 152 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: In Italian, PortaBella means beautiful door.In Carmel, it's a threshold well worth crossing.During the day, passerby on Ocean Avenue are lured in by the sight of diners happily engaged in food and conversation on the picturesque flagstone patio. At night, heady aromas and laughter waft innocuously out the famed front door each time it is opened.Once inside, you're instantly transported to the sun countries of the Mediterranean with "La Cuisine du Soleil."Inspired by regional dishes, the menu takes you on a gustatory tour of Italy, Southern France and Spain, complemented by a wine list offering an excellent selection of California wines.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ate Here Twice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate here both days we were in Carmel, once for lunch and once for dinner. Food and atmosphere were great. Owned by a charming Italian gentleman who used his charms on us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarahmommom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    102
    40
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

The best place in Carmel to have a party. Wonderful food and even better staff. Ajan was just wonderful and did everything to perfection.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dollydimples2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned from a weekend in Carmel. Stop by Portabella for lunch. It was perfect. I had a wonderful salad with peaches and an amazing hamburger I am still talking about. The bread was fantastic. Overall we really enjoyed our visit to Portabella and will certainly dine there again when we return to Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zybach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Charming European-style bistro in heart of Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed Portobella so mucj that we had lunc and dinner there in the same week! This small, charming restaurant has four star service, a continental menu, and a cozy, inviting atmosphere. For dinner, I ordered the coq au vin and my husband had the paella. Both were excellent. Prices were reasonable for Carmel. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mariagloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a good restaurant with really really nice staff. It's in a nice location off Ocean Avenue and the menu is really nice. I found it a tad pricey for the quality but their prices are very standard for Carmel. We went somewhat late so the place was almost empty but it still managed to be cozy and quaint. Exactly what we were craving after a drive down from San Francisco. All in all, a good choice but I suspect there may be better options in Carmel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielaFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabella also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Portabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing