We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Casanova Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Carmel, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I were very much looking forward to our annual trip to Carmel. We had missed being able to eat at one of our favorite restaurants last trip. We have been making Casanovas one of our favorite dinner experiences for over 30 years. The ambiance was gone, loud, crowded, and they no longer had staff that knew what good service was. I don't recal a trip in the past where the chair wasn't pulled out and a napkin layed out for you. Not this trip. The "waitress" (nothing close to the fine food servers weve had in the past) didn't even return to ask how our meal was...it was barley warm, cold plated, sause so salty you couldn't eat it, cold dry bread, not the freash baked variety I recall, tables crammed so close it was like eating in a cafeteria with the food quality about the same. I don't mind spending $100 a plate if the food and service warrents, but they won't be on my list of places to eat ever again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    283
    146
    84
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I would recommend this as a must. The food is unbelievable and the service is excellent. Very warm and inviting atmosphere. It has a very international flavor...you could be in a wonderful restaurant in Italy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Della L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, California
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Food in Charming Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on Easter Sunday with friends. Service was terrific, friendly and warm. Great wine selection. Lamb very good Gnocchi pillow soft and can get half order for appetizer. Beignets light and has 3 dipping sauces. always consistent food here. Also nice choice for lunch.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerryloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be aware of changes”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have visited Casanova just about every time we visit Carmel, which is yearly. It has been one of our favorite restaurants, period. Recent trip, not so terrific. Ambiance still wonderful but starting with the hostess, things have changed.
Biggest change is that now everything on the menu is at alacarte prices, gone are the delicious breads, dipping sauces, steaming pot of soup etc. that before all came with your entree. We found the wine list to be extremely expensive and our entrees were just so-so.
Pluses, with the exception of the hostess, all staff were very friendly and professional and the timing of our whole meal was flawless. Too many other places in Carmel however to keep coming here automatically. Next time will explore other options.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank roscoeSanCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The decor is super French and the food is just delicious! The atmosphere is just perfect for a Sunday brunch inside or outside in the gardens. The brunch menu is excellent as well as the dinner menu. Excellent choices for wine and drinks as well. Worth the wait worth the visit. Very popular among the Carmel locals. A must!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing