We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Carmel Eating Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Restaurant

Casanova Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 156 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Carmel Eating Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We went on a walking tour of Carmel and got to walk through the restaurant first (our guide highly recommended it). One of the tour participants told us she and her husband had been coming to Carmel for years and that this was their favorite restaurant. That was all we need so we decided to return for lunch. We sat outside because it was such a beautiful day. It's not exactly spacious outside but that wasn't an issue for us. They start you with homemade breadsticks with a tomato jam that was very tasty. We split a Caesar salad that was terrific as well and then tried a pasta dish and the salmon. Everything we had was very fresh and tasty. Service as very attentive as well. We will definitely come back whenever we are in Carmel again

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank azcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    227
    124
    68
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not so romantic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I decided to try Casanova again after our first dining experience 12 years ago. This time it was in celebration of our 20 year anniversary. I am quite surprised that this restaurant is recommended as being a very, romantic restaurant. We were seated in the same spot as we were 12 years ago, which was fairly close to the kitchen. Unfortunately, we had such a path of high traffic that we jokingly examined the floor for a path worn into the wood.
Overall the food was good with a few exceptions- the scallops were divine and the soup of the day was simply awful. I ordered the tomato/ seafood bisque soup and was so looking forward to it. However, it was VERY fishy that I could not eat it. My husband tried it as well and also found it very fishy. The waitress asked me if I liked it and I said no, and apologized for returning the full bowl of soup. She was very polite in taking it away. Imagine how surprised I was when I learned that we still paid for that soup. I feel that this was poor customer service and if the chef would have tasted it, he would have been the one to apologize. There are many other delicious and more romantic restaurants to choose from in Carmel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank natalie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Made reservations a week in advance... got there and they acted like they had no idea. Advertised as romantic...absolutely not. Tried to seat us in an outdoor patio with tables soooo close the waiters could not even walk through. Loud, crowded, and hustled. We dressed for a romantic dinner and got to sit 8 inches from the guests in the camo baseball caps and tank tops... oh, yeah.. let the romance begin! I will say that the food was good. Service was slow. I would not eat there again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MHBDEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, cozy, friendly place for a romantic dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fantastic place with old world ambience in the middle of Carmel. Food was excellent, we had the seafood pasta and it was perfect. A bit pricey but its in Carmel! Highly recommended for a special occasion for a couple. They also have a fine wine list. Service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meovu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great referral from friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Frankly it was a wonderful experience. After a day in Point Lobos we decided to eat early so that we could drive back home in the Bay Area. Our meal was a perfect end to a wonderful hike around one of California's most beautiful ocean side parks. We sat in the inside patio which has a lovely atmosphere. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. We shared an appetizer Fig and Pig. Artfully presented. Both the scallops and the NY strip (more like a tender juicy filet mignon) and their sauces were terrific. And expensive. As should be expected when you combine fresh healthy ingredients with excellent chefs and servers in a delightful setting. Finally we shared the warm chocolate pudding. Too good. The wines by the glass, Llaird chardonnay and the wine of the week a Spanish Llebre Temranilllo Merlot Cab blend. Should giv it a touch over 4 stars really. We will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casanova Restaurant also viewed

Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
Carmel, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Casanova Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing